Jobs for January

The Garden Smallholder

January is usually a cold month, if the weather is particularly severe there may be little to do in the vegetable garden, but now is the perfect time to plan for the busy year ahead. Browse seed catalogues and plan what you’re going to grow and where, drawing a plan of your plot can help. If you’re a busy person, think about how much time you can realistically spend in your garden or at your allotment, try to plan accordingly, avoiding the mistake of growing too much all at once. It’s easy to become overwhelmed, especially if you’re a beginner, far better to choose crops that you enjoy eating or find easy to grow. Add more to your list as your confidence grows.

Some jobs that can be tackled in January:

  • Order seed potatoes for chitting this month or next
  • Force established Rhubarb
  • Sow Broad Beans if you didn’t get around to it…

View original post 74 more words

7 comments

  1. Where are you located? This is an interesting post, but I need to adjust the months – it would be impossible for me to do any digging or planting as the ground is frozen solid under more than a foot of snow.

  2. In actual fact, I’ve just amended this post (I wrote it some years ago now but use it as a reminder). I no longer dig my soil, I prefer the method of topping up the soil with layers and layers of organic matter and compost. No dig is a brilliant way to feed your soil, maintain soil health and give my poor back a rest! If you haven’t heard of it I can give you more information.

  3. That sounds like a fantastic way of doing things – I’m going to have to do SOME digging this year because I’m starting from scratch, and although I do want to do some raised beds, I’m not going to have enough compost materials ready to fill everything. I might have to bite the bullet and get a few yards of top soil delivered to get me started.

  4. Sounds exciting! Our new veg garden here began last year from scratch, previous to that we had a large raised bed veg garden for many years. I’m a huge fan of raised bed gardening, it suits our garden perfectly because drainage in some areas is a problem. If you’re interested in no-dig methods, have a look at Charles Dowding’s website http://www.charlesdowding.co.uk/no-dig-growing/why-no-dig/ Best of luck with your new veg garden!

  5. Thanks Karen. Your post reminded me that there are still things to do in this bare month! I live in South West Ireland and the weather has been very mild this winter overall. I’m off to set my broadbeans… 😊

Leave a Reply

