Four Coloured Tomatoes

hen and hammock four coloured tomatoes

The lovely people at Hen and Hammock sent me tomato seeds to try, I started sowing them in the greenhouse today. Four Coloured Tomatoes are a box pack of heritage varieties called Black Russian, Golden Sunrise, Pink Brandywine and Green Zebra, varieties I’ve never grown or tasted before so I’m very excited about growing and eating them.

sowing tomato seed

Each variety packet contains approximately 15 seeds, with a detailed description on the front and full instructions on how to grow them.

hen and hammock four coloured tomatoes

Heritage or heirloom tomatoes are old-fashioned varieties with excellent flavour, they come in many shapes, colours and sizes, quite different to the usual red supermarket tomato.

tomato seedlings

I’m looking forward to watching the seeds grow and then eventually fruit, the greenhouse will be full of interesting colours late summer.

10 comments

  1. Oh I love the Black Russian as well as the Brandywine—the brandywine is a long standing stalwart in the southern garden–I’ve grown the Golden Sunrise with success but have not grown any to the green ones as I suspect I would struggle with ripe verses not ripe as green is green :)
    As ice is predicted Monday, the thoughts of summer tomatoes makes me yearn for Spring!!!!

  2. I’ve never grown Green Zebra but used to buy it regularly at the summer markets. I seem to remember it being on the tart side and excellent for salads.

  3. I’ve grown green zebra and they always crop well – they even eventually go reddy / orange if you give them time:)

Leave a Reply

