Secret Gardens of the Cotswolds Book Giveaway

I’m kicking off the new year with a fantastic book giveaway! One lucky reader could win a copy of the following book:

Secret Gardens of the Cotswolds

Secret Gardens of the Cotswolds is a personal tour of some of the UK’s most exciting and exquisite gardens, guided by the owners, their gardeners and designers, in this green and magical pocket of England.

In the golden stone villages of Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire, author Victoria Summerley and photographer Hugo Rittson-Thomas offer privileged access to twenty secret gardens, revealing their charm, romance, horticulture and history.

Retracing the footsteps of such luminary designers as Humphry Repton, Rosemary Verey, Isabel and Julian Bannerman and Mary Keen, we find examples of great design, compelling planting, inspired sculpture and private paradise. From the cherished snowdrop fields of the Elwes family at Colesbourne, to Antony Gormley’s statue in the garden of Matthew Freud and Elisabeth Murdoch, this book uncovers the various and intriguing ways these Cotswolds gardens inspire and enchant.

While some of these gardens open regularly to visitors, those that remain strictly private can now be savoured and enjoyed through the eyes of those who know them best.

Victoria Summerley is an award-winning garden journalist and was executive editor of the Independent newspaper in the UK. She lives in Bibury, Gloucestershire, the village once described by William Morris as ‘the most beautiful village in the Cotswolds’.

Secret Gardens of the Cotswolds officially releases on 5th February, published by Frances Lincoln www.franceslincoln.com, priced £20. If you’d like to be in with a chance of winning a copy, let me know by leaving a comment – it’s as simple as that! Closing date 29th January, I’ll draw a name at random. Open to UK residents only (sorry!).

Best of luck!

20 comments

  1. Yes please! I love the Cotswolds, I was lucky enough to live there for a few years although I didn’t fully appreciate it at the time, I was a teenager! Beautiful part of the country.

  2. this state side girl always misses out on the good stuff :)
    I will look to see if the book is available elsewhere as it looks to such a breath of fresh air on this bleak January grey day!!
    Here’s to a hopeful Spring in the garden!!
    Julie

  3. This is the second blog singing this books praises – I’ve suggested a similar book based on Secret Gardens of Yorkshire. I’d be happy to enter the draw- it may even tempt me to visit the Cotswolds again.

  4. Oh I’d love to win this! Especially seeing as these gardens are on my doorstep! It’ll give me a great excuse to get out and about this Summer and explore (and enjoy and inside peek to those that aren’t open) xxx

  5. Would love to get an insiders peek at these fabulous gardens, tempting me to visit them personally!

  6. I’d like to enter your draw Karen, even though my bookshelf definitely does NOT need another book on gardens or gardening! I love to see how other people have placed plants together so a little peek into secret gardens would be wonderfully inspiring.

Comments are closed.