Pumpkin and Raisin Cake

pumpkin and raisin cake

With plenty of pumpkins stored away I’ve been looking for recipes to make something a little different with them. This scrummy recipe for pumpkin and raisin loaf cake appealed to me, particularly the spicing which would be pleasantly warming now that colder weather has finally arrived. I realised I lacked a loaf tin so I decided to use a cake tin instead. Which is perfectly fine, but the cooking time would need to be reduced a touch.

In any case, I love cake.

Serves 12

Ingredients:

250g plain flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

200g dark brown soft sugar

75g butter

2 eggs

250g pumpkin puree

4 tablespoons milk

100g raisins

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 C / Gas mark 4.

For the pumpkin puree I measured out 800g of roughly chopped pumpkin (skin and seeds removed) and placed in a pan of boiling water, simmer for 20 minutes or so until the pumpkin pieces are soft (test with a fork). Strain water and place cooked pumpkin pieces into a fine mesh sieve, try to remove as much excess water as you can by pushing down on the pumpkin pieces with a fork to strain. Scrape the contents from the sieve into a bowl and use a hand blender to puree. Measure and set aside.

In a mixing bowl combine flour, baking powder, spices and bicarbonate of soda. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Mix in eggs, 250g pumpkin puree and milk. Stir flour mixture into wet mixture until just combined. Fold in raisins.

Pour into a 23 cm cake tin and bake for 35 – 40 minutes (test middle of cake with a skewer).

cake mixture

Although you can’t really taste much of the pumpkin, the puree keeps the cake moist. After working in the vegetable garden or the allotment, enjoy a slice with a cup of hot tea. Lovely!

16 comments

  1. Just made an apple walnut cake to take with tea for the afternoon but this one is definitely on the list now, and perfect for a cozy fall afternoon while we do our read-alouds with a cup of tea. Many thanks for sharing it. Hmmm…Thursday will be a good day for another cake.

  2. It looks delicious, and I’ve just looked in the garage and realised how many squashes I have to get through. I’ll give it a try.

  3. Apple and walnut sounds delicious! I left the walnuts out of this recipe due to allergy in my family, I love walnuts so I’ll have to shrink the recipe down for a smaller cake…. just for me. Have fun making it :)

  4. I made my first pumpkin loaf cakes of the season yesterday, but I LOVE the idea of using cake tins. Thanks to your cake, I’ll probably try making a pumpkin layer cake this week / weekend … maybe with a pumpkin butter filling … Thanks for this sweet post.

  5. It looks delicious – I don’t have the space to grow pumpkins but we did have a collection on the doorstep for Halloween from a local farm shop. I even managed to give myself a blister chopping them last weekend for pumpkin pie, pumpkin soup and roast pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

