The Cut Flower Patch: Grow Your Own Cut Flowers All Year Round, Book Release and Blog Giveaway!

The Cut Flower Patch jacket

I’m excited to reveal the following book release, published March 2014 by Frances Lincoln (www.franceslincoln.com | @Frances_Lincoln) priced £20.00. I’m also hosting a giveaway for this book, one lucky reader will win a copy! Yay! Read on…..

It’s a delight to have a home filled with fresh flowers, and in this new take on the subject, Louise Curley shows that a cut flower patch is the most economical  and eco-friendly way to enjoy cut flowers. Using her experience from her own cutting patch on her allotment Louise explains how, even with a small amount of space, you can grow plants to give you cutting material throughout the year.

The book describes how to embrace seasonality with cutting material using spring bulbs, summer flowers and autumn seed heads and winter hedgerow foraging for year-round arrangements.

Sustainability and caring for the environment are themes, whether it’s using locally coppiced wood for plant supports or using jars and tins from the recycling box for vases. Louise’s selection of tried and tested cut flowers are beneficial to wildlife too.

The Cut Flower Patch will help you get the most from your patch with guidance on selecting the right spot, looking after your soil and how and when to sow. There is practical advice on maintaining the plot and how best to look after your flowers once picked. It it completed by a selection of flower arranging tips and sample arrangements as well as ideas on where to find great containers, planting plans and a helpful year planner.

About the author:

Trained horticulturist Louise Curley writes for the Guardian, Grow Your Own, The Simple Things and Gardens Illustrated magazines. She started her Wellywoman Blog in 2011 and was finalist in the ‘best blog’ category at the Garden Media Guild Awards in 2012. She gardens organically and has kept an allotment for four years on which she grows all her cut flowers.

To order The Cut Flower Patch at the discounted price of £16.00 including p&p (UK only, please add £2.50 if ordering from overseas), telephone 01903 828503 or email mailorders@lbsltd.co.uk and quote the offer code APG101

Alternatively, send a cheque made payable to: LBS Mail Order Department, Littlehampton Book Services, PO Box 4264, Worthing, West Sussex, BN13 3RB. Please quote the offer code APG101 and include your name and address details.

Win a copy!

All you have to do to be in with a chance of winning a copy of this fantastic book (I have one and I love it) is leave a comment saying you’d like to be included in the draw. Giveaway competition closes midnight, March 12th 2014. Please make sure your email address is valid and entered correctly, the lucky winner will be notified via email by Frances Lincoln Limited. If the winner fails to make contact with Frances Lincoln, I will draw a new winner. I’m sorry, the competition is only available to UK addresses only.

With thanks to Jessica at Frances Lincoln Limited.

31 comments

  1. I would love to be entered in this draw. I love flowers & think a house without flowers is an empty house!!

  2. I’d love to throw my name into the pot but sadly I am a wee bit removed from the UK, by a mere ocean :)
    But what a lovely book and certainly an area that I am chomping at the bit to get back to once this wicked winter lifts–that being the yard and garden—as well beginning this backyard chicken adventure of mine! Thank for sharing about the book—maybe eventually it will be available here in the US—

  3. I would love to be entered into your give away
    book competition. I try to grow my own fruit and vegetables and have grown a few flowers in my kitchen garden. I would love to be able to pick impressive bouquets and I think this book would give me inspiration to sew, plant nurture and pick wonderful flowers. How exciting. Happy gardening.

  4. I would like to be entered into the prize draw for this book please. I like to grow a small amount of vegetables in my small garden patch, but other than existing shrubs and bulbs, have not had much success with flowers! Thanks

  5. The book looks amazing, quite inspirational. I’m going to try and grow more flowers for cutting this year, so I’d love a copy. Thanks for the giveaway.

  6. Since I’m not eligible for the drawing, perhaps, when you are rich and famous, you could send me a book here in the US. ; )
    Best of luck!

  7. Please include me, I’m just starting to grow flowers to cut and need all the help I can get! Although I live in Italy I can give a UK address for delivery. I’ve followed the WellyWoman blog since I began blogging, it’s always a great read.

  8. Just wanted to say if you do live in North America my book will be out there too. It’s for sale on amazon.com from 6th March. Sorry about the shameless plug. ;) Good luck to everyone who enters. :))

  9. I’d love to won a copy please! I’m on the verge of taking on part of a farmer’s field so that I can expand my growing repertoire. Cut flowers will definitely be a part of this!
    Clare

    imperfectdomesticity.blogspot.co.uk

  10. I’m hoping to grow a patch of poppies on my alloty for the year that’s in it and would also get great inspiration from this book.Can I please be added to competition list? Thanks.Maggi.

  11. Would love a copy of this book, it looks great. I have been really inspired by your blog and Instagram pics, please keep the posts and pics coming!

  12. Yes please – book sounds like what I have been looking for. Have attempted a cut flower patch and failed so far. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

