Let the Chitting Begin

chitting seed potatoes

At last, it feels like I’m doing something productive again. Laying seed potatoes out in trays or egg boxes to chit (encouraging the seed potatoes to sprout before planting) really is the start of the growing year for me. Some say chitting potatoes isn’t necessary, I get stupidly excited about chitting mine so I’ll carry on doing it regardless.

This year I’m planning to grow Charlotte (a salad variety) and Desiree main crop. They’re firm favourites of mine and always seem to do well on my plot.

desiree potatoes growing

By the way, I think potato flowers are utterly gorgeous…..

potato flowers

What are you planning to grow in your potato bed this year? If it ever stops raining!

23 comments

  1. Hurray, good to hear that it is time for the growing to begin. I have some Nadines, and a few Charlottes and Maris Piper. I shall be looking out the egg boxes.

  2. Fingerlings. But what I’m more excited about is last year, I saw several people grow them in old chicken feed bags and I’m very limited on space so I want to try that this year. And I’m super excited. When you harvest them, you just put all the composted dirt from the bags around the fruit trees.

  3. The way it’s going at the moment, although my potatoes are in their egg boxes, the only thing likely to go into my potato beds here in north Wales is……fish!!!!!

  4. Charlotte are my favourite potatoes, and I also grow Desiree. I’m also growing some first earlies Vales Emerald and another second early Kestrel.
    Like you I chit all mine, and feel that it’s the start of the new season. xx

  5. I agree that the process of chitting potatoes feels like the growing season is on its return. Charlotte are a lovely variety, reliable and with great flavour, one of my favourites. Last year. I grew 8 varieties, including the purple-fleshed Violetta for novelty value. This year I’ve reined myself in and I have just five varieties chitting away – Charlotte, International Kidney (again, great ,for taste), Sarpo Mira (for blight resistance), Maris Piper and Setanta. Hopefully when it’s time to plant them out this seemingly endless rain might just have decided to take a break!

  6. We set ours to chit last weekend too. We’ve gone for Red Duke of York and Pentland Javelin as first earlies and Pink Fir Apple for a salad potato.

  7. Another vote for Charlotte potatoes, they are lovely small – but every year I forget a few and they do fine, growing enormous… Love your blog, wonderful photos!

  8. Hoorah, it is (sadly) exciting when this time arrives isn’t it! Ready to start this weekend. Last year tried Sharpe’s Express as the early, Bonnie as the second and Desiree main crop. Bonnie were delicious and a good crop, Desiree were lovely and again a good crop. Sharpe’s went in a bit late, but am trying them again this year together with the Bonnie and the main will be Cabaret.

  9. Crawforddogs, you don’t have to chit potatoes in order to grow them, I just like to give mine a head start by chitting them for a month or so before planting (end of March through to May depending on weather conditions), to produce strong healthy sprouts.

  10. We are off to the East Anglian Potato Day tomorrow. We definately want Charlottes and really enjoyed our bumper harvest of Pink Fir Apples last year. As for the rest, we are happy to experiment. Can’t wait to start chitting them, will finally feel like the growing season is on it’s way!

  11. I think I already have potatoes chitting in my cupboards! We moved into a new house during the winter and I can’t wait to get my gardens started.

Leave a Reply

