Counting Butterflies

peacock butterfly

Taking part in the Big Butterfly Count took me out of my zoned out state of mind for a while, giving me something else to think about other than how incredibly numb and sad I feel at the moment. Since my last post regarding the loss of one of our beloved dogs, sadly my Nan passed away a couple of days ago. It was expected, she’d been terminally ill for a long while. Although I’m relieved she’s no longer suffering, my heart is crushed. At 39 years old I know how lucky I was to still have a grandparent to confide in, to be spoilt rotten by. I will miss that.

I loved listening to her stories. We recently giggled together like a couple of school girls over her confession of having had a huge crush on Stewart Granger in her younger years. She was a beautiful lady; skin as soft as silk, olive complexion and hardly a wrinkle, sparkling eyes and a naughty grin.

peacock butterfly

I spent 15 minutes counting butterflies the day after her passing, mesmerised by their beauty and grace, smiling inside, because they reminded me of her.

12 comments

  1. Very sad, our thoughts are with you but wonderful to be able to recall lovely memories. They will keep you going

    Dave B

  2. You are going through a tough time at the moment . I wish I could give you a real hug, but here is a virtual one, anyway. {hug} Sorry life is so rough for you xxx

  3. So sorry for your loss..i had the same relationship with my beautiful grandma and despite her being 3 months shy of 100..made no difference to the sense of great loss..i am sure your grandma would have been watching and counting alongside you in your garden sanctuary.
    My biggest hugs to you xx

  4. You are in my prayers. What a joy your Nan must have been. Think of all the things she experienced in her life. And to have someone like you to share some of those experiences was a blessing to you both. Any woman that had a crush on Stewart Granger is ok in my book.
    My condolences go out to you also, on the death of your beloved pet companion. I have been there and understand a little of your grief.

Leave a Reply

