Pets

A Difficult Time

germanshepherd2

A week ago today our world was turned upside down. We had to make the heart breaking, gut wrenching decision to give our gorgeous boy sleep. Everything since has been a bit of a blur.

germanshepherd

Our hearts are torn into a million pieces, we miss him terribly.

germanshepherd3

Our younger German Shepherd is helping to ease our pain, but of course, she misses him too and looks for him all the time which is heart breaking to witness. The house is oh so quiet.

german shepherd

This is the reason I haven’t responded to blog enquiries, general emails and blog comments.

39 thoughts on “A Difficult Time”

  1. I’m so sorry, that is such a difficult thing to do. I had to put my favorite dog down a few years back. I’m not an emotional guy at all. I cried like a baby. I still miss jumping out of bed and landing on the big guy. A good dog is a part of the family.

  2. I am deeply sorry for your loss. I’m sorry too for your younger dog, who I know is missing him as much as you are. He was a beautiful boy with wonderful, expressive, intelligent looking eyes.

  3. Sorry you have lost part of your family. Nothing can replace a good dog. Enjoy the memories of him, soon they will make you smile again.

  4. Sending hugs which are useless at this time,i feel your pain..and it is an unbearable time..love to you your family and your sweet pup who is also in mourning for her friend.R.I.P over the rainbow bridge handsome boy Love Bev xx

  5. I am so sorry for your loss. As a dog owner who has had to do this several times over my lifetime I know how terribly difficult this is and what a very sad time it is. Hugs for you.

  6. It’s a terrible irony of life that dogs are such beautiful, pure souls with such comparatively shorter lives than us. Please take some comfort knowing what a beautiful, happy life you (helped to) give him. From now on, make sure his spirit lives on with you. And don’t forget to breathe through the pain; breathing always helps even when it hurts the most.

  7. So sorry for your loss, right now no words can help but couldn’t read and not comment. Hope you and your younger dog can find comfort in each other and as time passes some of the pain will change to remembering happier times xxxxx its the most painful part of living with another soul xxxx

  8. We just took our older dog to be put down yesterday – had been coming for a while so not exactly a shock, but very, very sad. He came to us from a rescue at three years old and we had him for nearly another twelve years, the longest we have had any dog.

    So I really sympathise with your loss. Look after yourselves.

  9. What a gorgeous boy. I am so sorry for your loss-find peace in the reality that if he was sick or in pain, you made the most loving decision possible. You set him free.

  10. Hi Karen, I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m sure you gave him a wonderful life though and time does heal wounds. So take your time to enjoy the memories. Lots of love xxx

  11. I’m very sorry to hear about your loss. You do wander about for days after…almost following where he would have been around the room. Thinking of you.

  12. I am so sorry for you… I sadly know from experience how terrible it is. Try and focus on all the great times you had together and how he had the happiest life of all, with you. xx

  13. So sorry to hear that for you all Karen, anyone with pets will be empathising with you right now and understands the huge void you are feeling. He had a loving, cherishing family and home and it is clear from the pictures what a beautiful and happy chap he was, he clearly enjoyed being with you.

  14. Thank you everyone for your lovely and supportive comments, apologies for not replying individually, I really do appreciate each and every one. I couldn’t approve Veronica’s comment without saying anything, that wouldn’t be right. Veronica, I’m so sorry you’re going through the same pain of losing a much-loved dog, it’s ever so hard and hits you like a truck when they’re gone. I really hope you and your family take comfort that you gave a rescue dog a wonderful life. Thank you for stopping by to leave a comment, even though you’re grieving yourself. Much love x

  15. I am so sorry about your dog. I have had experience of this and the poem Rainbow Bridge always helps me. Thinking about you.
    Susie Dixon

  16. So sorry for the loss of your beautiful boy. I understand only too well how awful this feels. My thoughts are with you and your other dog who is clearly feeling the loss too. Although parting at the end is so tough, dogs are just so wonderful and you will treasure memories of him for the rest of you life x

  17. Very sorry for your loss. I hope fond memories and love help you through. Hugs and pats for your other girl.

  18. Oh, I’m so sorry for your sad news. Dogs are such a huge part of the family – we are hoping to get one ourselves soon – and they leave such a hole when they go.

  19. I’m sorry for your loss. Physically he is gone, but his spirit lives on and the memories live on in your heat and mind. It takes time. Don’t forget to breathe.

  20. I’m so sorry for your loss. As a first time owner of a dog, I was knocked sideways at how much they are a part of your life. Your dog was an absolutely beautiful creature and was so obviously loved and cherished. One day his memory will make you smile and hold on tight until then. Thinking of you xx

  21. Although I am a stranger, I am a dog lover, and have walked in your shoes way too many times. What a beauty he was. It’s never easy, to lose a furry child (that’s what they are to me and my husband). Please accept my sincere thoughts or sorrow for your loss. Paulette

  22. So sorry that he is gone. He was a beautiful dog and clearly brought much happiness to your family. How lucky you were to have had each other.

Leave a Reply

