Cucamelon

cucamelons

After a shaky start with germination problems I’m pleased to see Cucamelon fruit, growing on the vines. The fruits resemble miniature melons (about the size of a grape when ready for picking), with a refreshing flavour of pure cucumber with a dash of citrus running through. The fruit on my vines being super tiny at the moment were tricky to photograph.

Despite claims of Cucamelons being dead easy to grow, I only managed to grow two plants. I finally had success with Mr Fothergill’s seed, kindly sent to me to try. Unfortunately, my James Wong seed failed to produce anything but to be fair, I’d say the lingering cold spring caused the problem because I used that packet first. Using my own sowing experience to offer advice to anyone wishing to grow Cucamelons for the first time, sow as much seed as you can to increase your chances and in a constantly warm environment such as a greenhouse or conservatory if you don’t have a heated propagator. Cover the seed tray at night with a clear plastic lid to keep warmth in.

cucamelon

My vines have been trained along wires in the greenhouse, the beautiful weather we’re enjoying (or melting in) has really brought the plants on. Once I’ve gobbled up all the fruit and the fruiting period is done and dusted, I will lift the main roots before the first frosts arrive and store in compost in the garage or shed over winter, planting out again the following spring for earlier fruits. Hopefully!

16 comments

  1. I have never seen or heard of these, intriguing – and I know just the drink to pop them in – a refreshing G&T sounds just the ticket!

  2. You have inspired me to give them ago this Summer down under, hopefully with the long Summer I should get a few plants growing, they are apparently called Mexican Sour Gherkins!! However last summer was a terrible year for me when it came to cucumbers, I only had to successful vines out of four varieties that I planted and they were French Parisian and a Burpees variety. Your allotment is looking great! Hope the chickens are all well after your loss of Myrtle.

  3. In a unkind way I am glad your had problems, because they were driving me nuts and I thought it was me! :-)

    I started them off in a heated propagator and they would grow well until they got to 3 inches and then just died! It took three goes (several weeks) before I managed to produce four. Two have continued to grow really well, the other two getting there. I planted them with my chilli’s and the chillis have acted as a natural support and the cucamelons climbed up them! They also seem to like the same enviroment so make a good pairing. Didnt release you could store the roots, thanks for the tip!

    Easy to grow paahhh – hope they taste good!

  4. I’ve found them to be pretty tricky to be honest, David. I really hope storing roots works, I don’t think I can be bothered to grow them again – unless of course they’re super tasty ;) Good luck with yours.

  5. Cucamelon?! I am intrigued!!! Looking forward to seeing how they come along. I’m growing some round cucumbers again this year but not sure they are the same thing?! p.s. sorry i’ve not been around for a while, my bloglovin had moved your blog into another group and I missed you!! Thank goodness I’ve found you again and moved you back! Looking forward to catching up!

  6. Grew three of these but cheated and bought tiny little plug plants :-). My dad grew one in his green house the other two i have in pots, one of which is a hanging basket. They have grown well but need to remember next time not to put the hanging basket one up in the wind as they seem very prone to wind burn. Fruits look almost ready to pick (well one or two) can’t wait to try em. Didn’t know they were saveable will give it a try thanks

  7. Hi can anybody help me, I have brought plug plants and all looks well with plenty of fruit but they just don’t seem to be filling out. I have pinched the tips out and I don’t know whether it would be a good idea to trim off excess tendrils. The plants have been fed with miracle grow.

Leave a Reply

