Framberry Plants

framberry plants

A parcel of Framberry plants arrived on my doorstep from Mow It, Sow It, Grow It during the week. Once again, I was impressed with the careful and thoughtful packaging (fully recyclable) to ensure the plants arrived as fresh as a daisy.

framberry flower

What is a Framberry? It’s a new fruit for 2013, resembling a strawberry but tastes like a raspberry! I’m a sucker for anything unusual and I couldn’t resist giving these a go. Grow them as you would strawberries, they’re hardy enough to be grown outside in our UK climate too. My little plants are healthy and strong, they have flowers already so all I have to do is keep my fingers crossed for fruit this year!

If you’d like to try them yourself, place an order at http://www.mowitsowitgrowit.co.uk/buyframberryplants.html

With thanks to David at Mow It, Sow It, Grow It.

11 comments

  1. It’ll be interesting to see how well they grow, and what you think of the fruit. I’m not that keen on strawberries but really like raspberries. xx

  2. Really hope you enjoy them!

    Very new fruit for us, but last year our personal crop grew very well and tasted great. This years crop has started forming so looking forward to a bumper crop. We also noticed that bees seem to love them…

    As always, any questions just ask.

  3. These look exactly like the ‘strasberries’ that Waitrose has been selling (in all too low quantities, might I add) for a couple of years now. I’ve been aching to buy a plant ever since I starting growing strawberries last year. Glad to see they’ve made it onto the grow your own market (although prices are a little steep this year, so I think I’ll leave it until supplies are a little less restricted and prices a little lower).

  4. Hi!

    Just came across this post as I was searching for info on these fruits (was just considering getting some for this year). I was just wondering how they’ve been going? Are they nice? And are they still growing, 3 years later?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

