There’s a Hole in my Potato Bed

There’s a hole in my potato bed, dear reader, a hole. On my arrival to the allotment on Sunday morning (yesterday) I found this:

Rabbit hole in the potato bed
Rabbit hole in the potato bed

It wasn’t there Saturday.

Apparently, the rabbit fencing around the allotment site has been found to have a few ‘flaws’ recently. No kidding! I checked inside the hole for signs of life and found nothing, the hole didn’t appear to lead anywhere. I was beginning to wonder if this was the work of a very large rat, until I filled in the hole using the expertly tilled soil in a mound nearby, along with little round poops, courtesy of Peter Rabbit.

I guess a rabbit-proof fence is needed around our plot very soon. Oh the joys of allotmenteering!

15 comments

  1. Oh my! Peter was in my yard too! I can’t figure out how it got in either! Can’t help but laugh and feel a little relief that I’m not the only one! They are smart little boogers aren’t they!?!
    ~maria

  2. Rotten bunnies! they are trashing our back paddocks..i am trialling blood and bone fertiliser as i have read that because it smells like dead things the rabbits think a predator is close by and won’t go near it….i will see though :)

  3. Uh Oh! I used to get exactly these types of hole on my raised veg beds (nice soft soil for digging, I suppose). They never seemed to be proper burrows, just half attempts. I wonder why rabbits have a penchant for half-holes! :)

  4. I had/have a similar mini-tunnel in my onion bed. It is filled in at the moment, but before this, the ‘culprit’ came back three or four times to dig in the same spot (after I filled it in), once even digging two mini-tunnels, going in opposite directions. One of my neighbours said it could be a badger digging for worms, now I’m not so sure.

  5. Hi Val, that’s interesting to hear. I’ve just come back from my allotment and sure enough the hole / mini tunnel is back in the exact same spot. Gah! I filled it in and covered the area with a large piece of galvanised wire mesh, weighted down with bricks. I will check again tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

