Big Spawn Count 2013

breeding frogs

I’ve seen at least three frog-couples since the weekend, sometimes sat at the edge of the pond and other times swimming around. Each morning (and some evenings by torchlight) I check the pond for spawn but so far nothing. Last year, before we moved house, frogs spawned in the wildlife pond we made, we enjoyed watching the spawn develop into tadpoles and eventually froglets.

frogspawn

The pond here at our new property is deep with no shallow areas (although frogs can get in and out without any problems) and is home to large Koi, if the frog couples I have seen are spawning then it’s very likely the Koi are eating it. There are no other ponds nearby, so I’d like to help our froggy-friends by introducing a small shallow pond within the rockery surrounding the large pond. Under cover of shrubbery and surrounded by rocks and crevices, I’m hoping females will eventually choose to use it.

If you’ve found spawn in your pond, pop along to Big Spawn Count 2013 and use the online form to record your findings.

16 comments

  1. I don’t know if many frog species are threatened there, but in the U.S. many species of both frogs and toads in decline due to habitat loss or fragmentation, introduced species, parasites, pollution, and other causes. We are hearing Northern Spring Peepers now in our wetland – haven’t seen any spawn yet.

  2. Frogs are cute, love them too. They’re “singing” day and night at present. Just been to the nursery this morning where they’ve put a bassin into the polytunnel: the frogs adopted it right away and it’s actually a little over-populated. Hope some settle in our pond soon :)

  3. It must be great to see all those froggy couples but not to know that their spawn is likely to be a tasty snack for you koi. Will you remove the koi?

  4. Excellent post and photographs! I’ve spent a lot of time surveying amphibians (and reptiles) and have fond memories conducting frog and salamander egg mass surveys in the spring and early summer. It’s amazing to come back to the pond, swale or wetland at different intervals and check on the metamorphosis of the eggs into tadpoles and eventually adults. Such wonder to explore in a world inside a world! Thank you for posting. This lifted my spirits today :)

  5. You’ve reminded me we must have a look at the pond at the field behind us to check for frog spawn. We saw frogs ‘having piggy backs’ as my daughter said, last year but last time we looked there was no sign and I assumed everything late this year. Really interesting post.

  6. A little wildlife pond is a good plan though I’m sure your koi are throughly enjoying the unexpected bounty of frogspawn. Loved your Wordless Wednesday photograph of them.

  7. I am so glad i happened upon your blog,my hubby and i made a tree change nearly two years ago..we had been in lush green valley on 2/3 acre and now are on 11 acres of Australian woodland. Our frogs at the moment (it’s Autumn) are quite quiet..The Pobblebonk being our favourite..I love your pictures and i will surely be following your blog as i am determined to get my veggie garden going no matter what! even if i have to vicariously admire your English one.Feel free to pop in to my blog and see the enviroment i am battling with lol :)

  8. I do have a pond now, it was new last year and partly inspired by your previous pond (although nowhere near as nice). And we do have a load of frog spawn, so we’re really excited about it. I didn’t know about the survey, so I have just gone online and filled it in, thanks for mentioning it. Some of our tadpoles are swimming already, it’s great to see them.

  9. Hi Fozziemum, what a wonderful comment to wake up to, many thanks! I’m in the same boat as you as the moment, planning a new veg garden. It’s taking longer than I’d like due to having some other necessary work carried out here plus the British weather! We garden on poorly drained soil here too so it’s going to be a bit of a gamble where I site my new garden. Best of luck to you for yours, and wow to having all that land! I will pop in :)

  10. Hi CJ, I’m sure your pond is great – the frogs seem to think so! It’s wonderful to watch the tadpoles, I used to sit for hours and watch them rest on stones or nibble the edges of the pond.

  11. Good morning to you!…yes it is a pain..we have drought conditions and live on old gold mining land..so granite,quartz and shale…i have put some veg in with the garden around the verandah ala french potager style..and then we got zero rain,locusts,rabbits and our cats getting into it..grrrrrrr we love the space but it is going to be hard work..we may have to talk each other down…by the way i drool over british gardens…lol :)

  12. Don’t drool over mine, it’s wet enough as it is! Just kidding!
    Your conditions sound very challenging indeed, it’s going to be interesting to see your veg garden come together and stay together, but oh so worth it if you can pull it off. I will send you some rain if you send us some sun….deal? ;)

  13. Sounds like a plan! i miss my old vege garden it was huge..but you couldn’t kill anything in the lush soil…at least i have one eggplant..yes one and my artichokes are sort of alright..if i don’t look at them maybe they will thrive hahaha :)

  14. No spawn with me either just yet but this post has acted as a reminder to go out and check. My frogspawn is some six weeks behind schedule, but there is apparently solid scientific evidence which suggests January mean Temperatures have an effect on their emergence. Time will tell but let’s hope the froggies do breed, after all amphibians and much of our wildlife needs as much help as it can get.

    Kind Regards

    Tony

Leave a Reply

