How to Prune Autumn Fruiting Raspberry Canes

Autumn fruiting raspberries should be cut down to ground level to in February or March to encourage fresh growth
Autumn fruiting raspberries should be cut down to ground level to in February or March to encourage fresh growth

An allotment visit was needed today to cut the autumn fruiting raspberry canes down. Autumn raspberry varieties fruit on the current years growth, cutting all canes down to ground level during February or March helps to direct energy where it’s needed, encouraging fresh new growth (canes) from the base. The new canes will eventually bear fruit in late summer/autumn.

Cut each cane a couple of inches above ground level.
Cut each cane a couple of inches above ground level.
This is how your row of autumn fruiting raspberries should look after pruning
This is how your row of autumn fruiting raspberries should look after pruning

It was quite cold in the wind and raining on and off, apart from one other plot holder we were the only ones there.

Here’s a reminder on how and when to prune summer raspberries https://thegardensmallholder.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/tiding-summer-fruiting-raspberry-canes/

11 comments

  1. My summer and autumn raspberries aren’t planted half as neat as yours and they’re all planted together in my ‘raspberry corner’. All my summer ones are in bud now, makes it very easy for me to spot any dead autumn canes this time of year and chop them down. I really love your post :) So clear and lovely photos.

  2. Thank you Anna. I’m amazed I managed to get any decent photos, it was so dark and wet at the allotment. These canes were only planted a year ago so they’re still behaving themselves….for now! I’m sure they’ll send out suckers this year, that’s the awkward part but I will use the strongest ones for our new garden veg patch!

  3. Thanks for the reminder – we planted some new canes last year – have a whole two row bed to take up … and, er all accompanying roots.
    But any tips on how to confine root spreading with these hardy plants?

  4. Hi Beeseeker, I’ve never tried to confine mine, I just tend to keep an eye out for new canes springing up where they shouldn’t (and they do!) and deal with them as neccessary. The roots are shallow and I’ve heard surrounding them with overlapping house slates is the traditional way to do it. Worth a try!

  5. Hi Vickipickle, yes we do mulch our raspberries, well rotted chicken manure from our hens mixed with organic compost. We spread it around the base avoiding digging it in (raspberry roots are shallow and easily damaged).

  6. Just did ours today, they don’t look as tidy as yours though – partly as I still need to weed around them. Fingers crossed we have some dry days to get out in the garden, this afternoon very welcome!

  7. I’m very nervous about pruning our autumn fruiting raspberries, they were fantastic last year and I don’t want to do anything to upset them. I might have to just take the secateurs and tell myself that I have to be cruel to be kind!

Leave a Reply

