Missing the Rhubarb Patch

Timperley Early rhubarb in March

As I froze my socks off in the garden today I thought about tucking into warm rhubarb crumble. This is how the Timperley Early rhubarb patch (which no longer belongs to us) will be looking around about now. I miss it.

And the rhubarb crumbles I would be making and enjoying around about now…..

making rhubarb crumble

rhubarb crumble

To cheer me up we started the ball rolling for our new patch today and bought my favourite variety of rhubarb (Rich hates rhubarb), three puny looking Timperley Early crowns sweating away in a plastic bag. Buying them this way was a great deal cheaper than the potted single crowns and I couldn’t find my favourite this way anyway. I saved the crowns from the sweaty bag and potted them up individually, placing them in the greenhouse until we’re ready to plant them out.

It will be a long while before I can pull garden rhubarb again and our allotment rhubarb patch needs at least another year before pulling to give it the best start possible. Not to worry, I can always pop to the farm shop for sticks to satisfy my crumble cravings!

14 comments

  1. I love making rhubarb kuchen. I always buy the rhubarb but it would be great to be able to grow it. We are trying to figure out how to keep the deer and other critters from destroying our garden and eating the fruits of our labor!

  2. Mmmm…. rhubarb kuchen is lovely too! We had a deer problem to begin with in our previous garden and I think we will here too unless we sort the fences quickly! I hope you can figure something out soon.

  3. I feel for you, I have been mourning the loss of the rhubarb patch at our old allotment. I have two crowns just beginning to show signs of life in the pots they currently reside in, and comfort myself with the thought that it will taste so good once we can finally harvest some. One of our neighbours has three enormous rhubarb clumps so I suspect we will get given plenty to make crumble and pie from.

  4. Lovely to hear from another rhubarb fan, Janet! Lucky you, having a source so close in which to get your rhubarb from. Our neighbour has a lovely veg garden but no rhubarb patch but I know it’s not everyones cup of tea.

  5. I adore rhubarb, but have also suffered loss. Last year while we were on holiday, our builders arrived to dig the foundation of a new workshop in the garden, exactly where the rhubarb patch was, so it was gone when we got back! We intended to move it before work started but they began unexpectedly early. Still not got round to re-planting due to ongoing deer issues and a steady supply from friends, but I do aim to plant Timperley Early, once the deer fence is complete. Thanks, Tracey

  6. I can’t keep our rhubarb down! Fortunately I can give plenty away. I’ve already cropped twice this year – it’s still at the young, sweet stage :)

  7. I’m also mad about rhubarb crumble!!! Just got myself a rhubarb plant (tiny, tiny) in a pot for our new garden but we’ll definitely have to keep buying for the time being. People tell me around here it doesn’t do too well but with lots of TLC and manure of our mules it should be allright, I hope…keep warm, spring is on its way!

  8. I used to hate rhubarb but this year I suddenly started to love it! I think it’s because people have started using it in cup cakes and cheese and other random things that I never knew you could put rhubarb in! I’ve just bought my first plant, a pink champagne and I planted it out this weekend. I was told to leave it two years. Luckily I have friends who can supply and local farm shops too. I can see why you would miss your old plot but it will be nice growing a new one :)

  9. Tracey what a shame. Particularly because rhubarb takes so long to be established for eating.

    Lanajacoise, best of luck for your young plant, I’m sure it will do well under your care.

    Anna, I’ve always thought of rhubarb as one of those love it or hate it plants, or perhaps grows on you in time! Rich cannot stand the texture let alone the taste, but give me a patch of rhubarb and I’m all over it :) New crowns do need at least 2 years (sometimes 3 years depending on the variety) but I think it’s worth the looooong wait. We can look forward to chomping our rhubarb together ;)

  10. Rhubarb is such a divisive one, as are gooseberries, love them both. Inherited a rather neglected and overgrown veg patch with the new home last spring so this is my first year of having the (two) rhubarb which is the only plant I kept and cannot wait to get stuck in. They are the bog standard Timperly early but that’s fine. The pink gooseberries were planted last summer and am hoping for a crop this year – managed two berries last year and the birds beat me to it! Plenty of manure has been dug in over the autumn so I am hoping things really produce well.

Leave a Reply

