Inherited Things

The garden is looking really beautiful this month, especially with the sun shining. I realise I hardly mention the rest of my garden, beyond the vegetable garden boundary. There’s plenty of plants and flowers growing in our 1/3 of an acre garden and we inherited them all from the previous garden owner. Our garden is what you’d call mature, well stocked and well cared for over the years. A mature garden can quickly become a jungle if left to its own devices, I’m not a great fan of neat and tidy gardens (not ideal for wildlife) but I do have to keep it under some sort of control, otherwise I’d have my work cut out with all the pruning it requires.

The old honeysuckle arch has to be my favourite part of the main garden. Unlike the rest of the shrubs and massive conifers, it doesn’t demand yearly attention and does very well without much input from me. The wooden arch is rickety, not made particularly well (I’m certain the honeysuckle holds the arch up) and leans, but I think this only adds to its charm. The honeysuckle is an old gnarly specimen, highly perfumed flowers displayed profusely in May/June, often with another flush a month or so later. Right now it’s in berry but there’s still flowers hanging on to be enjoyed.

Honeysuckle flowering in June

Alongside the honeysuckle arch hangs a fairy ornament, left behind by the previous owner. Now I’m not one for garden ornaments, but I am rather fond of this one. Covered in lichen, gorgeous colours of natural garden patina, she blows a kiss to all that pass through the sweetly-scented arch. The ornament does have its uses, we use it as a bird feeder but I imagine that’s what it was meant for anyway.

Do you have any inherited things in your garden?

9 comments

  1. Beautiful! I wish the honeysuckle here looked like that. Instead it’s just been left to ramble horizontally all over the place and will have to be chopped out and replaced. Your fairy is lovely because she’s aged into her place in the garden; the only finds that I get are an occasional old milk bottle, an old sash window weight and rubbish from years gone by!

  2. What a lovely garden, Karen! I’ve added honeysuckle to my list of plants (which is growing fast) to put in next spring. I’m not much on garden ornaments either, but I do like the garden fairy. Like Caro says, she’s aged into her place there,

  3. I adore your honeysuckle, mine is so much smaller. I too am not a fan of ornaments in general, but I was given a small stone owl…. and he’s fitting in quite nicely :-)

  4. I keep meaning to say that the little pic of you with your GSD is a lovely snap. Your GSD is absolutely gorgeous, they are such beautiful, majestic and handsome animals; all of them highly individual personalities and characters. Over the years we’ve had three in our family, every one was very different but all were loyal, loving and protective to the whole family and now greatly missed.
    PS sorry to digress – btw the fairy is just lovely as is the honeysuckle.

  5. Hi Karen – That is a gorgeous honeysuckle. I inherited perennial beds when we moved into this house sixteen years ago. As I tended the beds and learned about the plants, I was surprised to feel that I was learning about the gardener who had planned and planted here. It was a more intimate experience than I would ever have guessed, as if this garden was a special room, completely furnished by the previous owner.

  6. What a lovely honeysuckle. I have a love/hate relationship with them, in that in the past they have always tended to do what they do best – bolt upwards and flower way up higher than I can appreciate them, leaving me staring at the gnarly lower branches. As to inherited plants, my entire garden is inherited at present! I’m still trying to identify half the shrubs, and wondering what they will do during other parts of the year.

Leave a Reply

