Prickly Peas and Carrots

This year I’ve had a real problem with mice digging up and eating my pea seed, also snails and slugs eating my carrot seedlings. Thanks to my slimy and furry foe I’ve had 3 long rows of carrots wiped out and endless amounts of pea seeds.

I’ve started the carrots again, carefully placing clippings from our holly tree around the rows. I switched from direct sowing of peas to sowing in modules (I must get on the guttering train), along with purple and green mangetout in the greenhouse. I planted out a tray of Shiraz mangetout last weekend, placing lots of holly clippings around the base of each seedling.

Hopefully the prickly holly will protect my peas and emerging carrots.

6 comments

  1. Better luck this time! I don’t grow peas, and have just re-sown carrot seed in two containers as I think that the first lot got washed away in a heavy downpour a couple of weeks back. xx

  2. I have carrot plants but right now they are still inside. Its my first time growing them. You guys are scaring me! What should i do to keep them away? I dont know how to get holly.

  3. I don’t usually have any probems growing carrots, however, last month we had prolonged wet weather and I believe this is the cause of the increase in slug and snail attack. Mice, well, I live near to a farm in a rural area so it goes without saying! I’m sure yours will be fine, try crushed egg shells sprinkled around your plants if you do have a problem with slugs etc.

Leave a Reply

