Inside my Greenhouse

Ever since the hose pipe ban came into force on April 5th it hasn’t stopped raining. At times the rain has been very heavy, sometimes hail, making gardening tasks and allotment visits virtually impossible to carry out. Seed sowing outside is a definite no-no here at the moment, the soil is saturated and cold. But, my garden is thriving in other areas, everything is leafing up and looks green and lush. I’m not in any hurry to sow outside anyway, there’s plenty of time and everything will catch up eventually.

Besides, if you’re really lucky, like me, and you have a warm glass greenhouse in your garden (or at your allotment), I’m sure you have taken the opportunity to escape the heavy rain and banish ‘gardening blues’ by pottering about inside it. As a boredom buster, try sowing some coriander and rocket in pots, or edible flowers such as Calendula to brighten summer salads or the veg plot. They come up really quickly undercover. Potting on seedlings is another task that I enjoy doing inside my greenhouse, as I listen to the rain battering down on the glass roof I appreciate my greenhouse even more.

Speaking of seedlings, cosmos are coming along well and looking really healthy, peas are coming up, also kale, sweet corn, Swiss chard, coriander and alpine strawberries. Sprouts and summer sprouting broccoli have been potted on, also foxglove seedlings – one of my favourite flowers.

According to the news we’re on course for the wettest April on record (although still officially in the middle of a drought!), flood alerts have been issued in some places. What a difference to last year, hottest April on record! Mind you, water-butts are filling up nicely, this time last year it was a real chore to get everything watered and prevent trays of seedlings from being scorched. Everything seems to be thriving in my greenhouse.

From the amount of photographs in this post I think you can probably guess where I’ve been spending a great deal of time lately. I hope you’re enjoying greenhouse or windowsill gardening if the weather is bad where you are.

12 comments

  1. You’ve got more in yours than I have in mine, but then mine is only a mini greenhouse. It’s all looking very good, which must be encouraging.

  2. All your seedlings look like they’re growing well!
    It’s when the weather is like this that I really wish I had a greenhouse and/or a proper shed. Flighty xx

  3. I’m really lucky to have a greenhouse, especially in this weather as Flighty has pointed out. I tried for a long time to get a recycled one from the free-ads but they’re like gold dust now. Instead, I resorted to good old fashioned saving up!

  4. Your garden looks great. I have been too bashful to post any photos. This is my first year gardening on a large scale and I’m having more failures than successes right now. I am inspired by your blog and look forward to learning more for you.

  5. I love your pictures – think I’ll put some more on my blog. Must turn my camera away from the chickens occasionally! Is your greenhouse heated? If so, how?

  6. It’s an unheated greenhouse, strategically placed so that it retains as much heat from the sun as possible. Not much of that at the moment though! Tomatoes are coming inside at night, it’s just not warm enough for them to stay inside the greenhouse all day.

  7. Well I do have a greenhouse, but even in there it is pretty chilly at the moment. The toms and chillies were in a state of suspended animation, so I have brought as many as possible inside into the conservatory, where they do better. I have recently sowed all my squash/cucumber/courgette seeds, but i don’t think they are going to come up until the weather warms up a bit.

  8. Karen, you definitely have a green thumb! Oh I lust for a glasshouse, yet fear that the expense of creating one would outpace the revenue it would create. So I can live vicariously through your photos and prose. Thanks! D.

  9. Loving the pictures Karen, you get so much clarity on them. I think I need to make more of an effort on the ones I take that’s for sure.

  10. Hi Karen, nice to find your blog. It’s the first small holding blog I’ve read, having only just thought to see if I could find any!
    I’ve been reading Old Wives’ Lore for Gardeners by Maureen and Bridget Boland and they are very keen on foxgloves as helping and healing plants, calling them “Dr Foxglove” … “the cottager’s Old Wife could have told the newcomers there is nothing to stimulate growth and help disease resistance like the common foxglove. Apart from keeping plants healthier, they will improve the storage qualities of such things as potatoes, tomatoes and apples grown near them.” (p24) .

    Seeing you are a fan of foxgloves, it struck me you might like this bit of recently read info. :-)
    Best wishes
    Sally
    http://rockhousefarm.wordpress.com

  11. Very interesting information, someone else recently told me about foxgloves improving storage of root veg. Thanks for visiting, Sally.

Leave a Reply

