Asparagus from Seed

The asparagus that I started from seed almost a year ago is growing again, tiny spears pushing up through the soil. I’m certain they’re showing earlier than usual for asparagus, the recent hot weather probably had something to do with it. The plants are currently in large pots in the greenhouse, on sunny days I move them all outside. All being well, I will plant them out in a permanent bed, probably early next year. For now, I want them to develop a good root system.

Growing asparagus from seed was an experiment really, just to see if I could. I started with 20 seeds but only 5 germinated after approximately 4 weeks of watching, willing and waiting. The small seedlings over-wintered well in the greenhouse, they just seemed far too fragile and precious to plant outside straight away (I’d waited so long for them to appear in the first place). Being all male plants they should be prolific in the future, when they really get going.

The plants are almost 1 year olds. I can’t cut spears yet (they’re too small anyway), not for another 2 years at least, but that’s OK with me, they’re worth the wait and I’m enjoying the challenge.

8 comments

  1. I’d love an asparagus bed. You’ll have an amazing amount of satisfaction from them once you’re picking them especially after growing them from seed. The baby spears look really cute.

  2. Well done for succeeding with your asparagus seeds. I bet you are looking forward to the time when you can cut and eat them. It is a long wait isn’t it.

  3. I’m really chuffed that I’ve managed to grow some. I’m thinking about trying again to see how many I can grow this year! They are very pretty plants too.

  4. wow thats dedication, my asparagus crowns went in last year and i noticed the first shoot today about the same size as yours :)

  5. Well done! I have to confess that we have always shied away from Asparagus, because it takes so long to grow – on the other hand if we’d gone with it in the first place we would probably have a great harvest by now! It’s never too late though and yours look so pretty, I’m tempted again :)

  6. I agree with wellywoman… they look really cute! I’m not sure that I will ever grow them, but I sure like eating them!

  7. Wow – looking good. That two year wait will be well worth it. Last year we bought some asparagus roots that were reduced in the local garden centre – never came to anything….so might give some seeds a whirl this year. In pots too – perfect!

Leave a Reply

