Planting Salad Potatoes

I’ve been planting Charlotte salad potatoes in the glorious warm sunshine. The past few days have been quite warm, easy to forget it’s only March.

Potatoes use up a lot of space in the veg garden but I always find room for salad types. I have some Charlotte seed potatoes left over so I will probably plant another row in a few weeks time, this should help to prolong the harvest period. I missed a few plants last year, thankfully a long spell of good weather allowed me to continue digging up Charlotte potatoes well into October.

Desiree main crop potatoes are going in at the allotment next month, the growing tubers should break the compacted soil further down where it’s hard to dig.

8 comments

  1. I’ll be planting my Charlottes over the next few days, which are one of my favourite varieties.
    I also grow Desiree which like you I’ll be planting early next month.

  2. Been doing exactly the same myself except this year I am trying a new method of growing them. Planted with a bulb planter and just covering with old stray etc. rather than ridging up. Hope it works out (might plant some in the traditional way as a back up in case the new method doesn’t work out).

  3. I put my Charlottes in too. Planning to use straw as well to mulch them as they grow. Your soil looks really good!

  4. Snap, although we didn’t plant Charlottes or salad potatoes, but we did put our potatoes in last weekend. It’s such lovely warm weather, if on the dry side.

  5. I am growing Charlottes for the first time this year. I planted mine in a potato sack on Saturday – only 5 but that will produce enough for me. I need to remember to keep it well watered though, as it is drying out very quickly in the warm weather.

Leave a Reply

