Wildlife Gardening

Food for Bees and Pollinators

I can feel spring approaching, I have a warm fuzzy feeling inside just thinking about it. As I begin to open veg seed packets to sow my first crops of the year, I drift away into my own little world inside the greenhouse. My thoughts turn to warm summer days rolling into hazy golden-lit evenings, sharing food and wine with friends as I watch lazy bumble bees collecting nectar while butterflies dance overhead. I cannot imagine a garden without these necessary visitors, I wouldn’t want to either.

When you begin to sow your veg seeds why not sow some food for the bees too? Perhaps you’re already planning to plant or sow pollinator friendly plants this year, if you already include plants in your garden for our pollinators but are looking for extra year round attraction, take a look at this helpful list of trees and plants: http://www.rhs.org.uk/Gardening/Sustainable-gardening/pdfs/RHS_Pollinators_PlantList

Go on, sow, plant and grow food for the bees and pollinators, you’ll be doing them a good deed and in return they’ll reward you with excellent yields from your fruit and veg garden. Not only that, your garden will be a hive of activity – a beautiful haven bursting with wildlife and year round interest.

11 thoughts on “Food for Bees and Pollinators”

  1. What a beautiful bee photo Karen! I’ve been seeing lots of bees around the snowdrops and aconites at my college already. For the first time, I’m sowing flower seeds as well as veg seeds – verbena bonariensis, poached egg plants and echinacea, so hopefully I’ll see pollinators all through the seasons in the garden.

  2. Love the Bee piccie! We have hoards of stuff that Bees love, from Lavender to Comfrey, but I shall be attempting a cut flower patch this year which should give them some more to go at :)

  3. I read this post, and link, with interest because as I’m sure you know I grow lots of flowers on the plot nearly all of which are such plants.
    Terrific pictures, and let’s hope that we see lots of bees and butterflies this year! xx

  4. Thanks for the great comments on the bee photo, great to hear others are providing a food source for pollinators too. I saw the first bees here last week, fantastic to see them again.

  5. Lovely photos Karen, of the bee and of the butterfly. I haven’t managed such a good photo, although I did snap a bumble bee last week but it was buried in some heather and didn’t sit still in a good position for long.

    In our bee keeping course we’re learning how the worker honey bees bring the queen into lay in February by flapping their wings to raise the temperature of the hive and by now they should have plenty of brood to feed, so they need lots of nectar and pollen.

    The link to the RHS list of pollinator friendly plants is really useful, it looks pretty comprehensive unlike some other lists I’ve come across.

Leave a Reply

