RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch 2012

It doesn’t seem like a year ago that I took part in the RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch. But it is. Once again our feathered friends need your help by taking part in this years watch. It’s really simple, all you have to do is watch birds that visit (not flying overhead) your garden or local park for one hour on either Saturday 28th or Sunday 29th January 2012. Jot down the birds and numbers that you see and send your results in via the link below, the online results survey form will be open from Saturday 28th January:

http://www.rspb.org.uk/birdwatch/

You can download and print out this handy bird ID sheet to help with your birdwatch if needed, by doing so you can register for 10% off bird food:

http://www.rspb.org.uk/Images/bgbw_sheet_2012_tcm9-259825.pdf

I will be taking part again, will you?

7 comments

  1. Living in the ‘concrete jungle’ as I put it and having started my blog plus reading through various sites, I find it amazing that there is so much going on that I have absolutely no knowledge of.

    This could be a great way for us to spend some time, as a family in the fresh air doing something constructive so I think I’ll see if we can set aside an hour, get the kids out there with the pads and pencils and hope to contribute.

  2. We’ll definitely be doing it again. Although as I said to Flighty the birds seem to get wind of it and disappear. We do have a fair selection of birds visiting the garden but then when we come to do the survey, nothing. Will try to outwit them this time.

  3. Snap! I posted a very similar Blog – I didn’t copy yours honest! :)
    I am aslo amazed at how quicklt it has come around again – and yes, we shall be counting.

  4. Unfortunately I didn’t have time for this over the weekend, but maybe that’s just as well as we had a green woodpecker in the garden this morning and I would have been annoyed he didn’t show up at the weekend.

  5. I have never been involved until now . This morning I spotted a flock of about 20 Fieldfare in my garden absolutely amazed I shall be looking for other species from now on.

Leave a Reply

