Harvest, Vegetable Garden

Harvesting Jerusalem Artichokes

I was kindly sent Jerusalem artichoke tubers at the beginning of the year and promptly planted them near the wildlife pond. I knew they would eventually produce tall and dense foliage and I hoped this type of planting would serve as a screen, creating some shade for the various pond wildlife. The plants did the job well, producing small pretty yellow flowers during late summer as an extra visual and wildlife treat.Towering at least 12 ft above my head it was obvious to see how these plants were related to the sunflower.

This is the first time I’ve grown Jerusalem artichokes and I found them pretty straight forward, producing a good yield for their first year. I began digging tubers in September but they were too small to cook so I popped them back in the ground and decided to leave the other plants for at least another month. I tried again a few days ago and this time the tubers were a nice size. I cooked some tubers to go with a Sunday lunch, I’ll admit to liking the taste but not the flatulence for which they are known – I cannot complain that I wasn’t warned!

I will leave most of the tubers to grow back again next year and plant a handful at my allotment, perhaps giving a few to plot neighbours if they’re brave enough!

5 thoughts on “Harvesting Jerusalem Artichokes”

  1. Tried some Jerusalem artichokes last year but we weren’t keen on their flavour which is disappointing since they seem fairly easy to grow. Probably for the best really, not sure I could cope with their effect on Wellyman’s digestive system.

  2. I grow them for the foliage and flowers as I’m not keen on eating them. Note that they can become rather invasive, and a clump that I thought I’d completely dug out a couple of years ago keep on growing from ones I’d obviously missed! xx

  3. I believe that cooking with a bit of winter savoury is a solution to the flatulence problem, I love them!

Leave a Reply

