Harvest, Vegetable Garden

September in the Garden Smallholding

I’m pretty sure autumn arrived earlier this year, but now it’s official I have to say it’s my favourite season of all. I recently spent a bit of time in the vegetable garden clearing away debris for composting, generally tidying up and grappling with weeds. Lovely home compost is ready to use now so I shall be digging plenty of that into empty beds as they become available, this will give the soil a really good boost. One job that I’ve been putting off is tidying the greenhouse. I didn’t opt for a concrete base or slabs so I should have put membrane cover down on the floor with gravel on top because now it resembles something like a hot-house from Kew Gardens – the grass and weeds have really done well. I think I’ll leave it through autumn and winter, just in case baby frogs from our wildlife pond have taken up residence.

It’s nearly time for planting the first of the spring garlic, I will probably grow ‘Cristo’ again, I’m really pleased with it so far and it seems to be keeping well too. I’m still deciding whether or not to autumn sow broad beans and peas, although nature has already beaten me to it thanks to some stray pods. There’s still plenty to eat from the vegetable garden including, cabbages, kohl rabi, carrots, beets, squash, autumn raspberries, runner beans, potatoes and huge parsnips although I like them to get a frosting for the best flavour. I planted two large blocks of sweet corn this year, one block went to my allotment and the rest in the garden, by doing this I managed to accidentally extend the picking season. Carrots are proving to be a big hit this year, hardly any carrot fly damage! I grew Flyaway, a variety with a higher resistance to carrot fly. Admittedly, I did wonder if the flavour would be impaired due to breeding but I was pleasantly surprised.

Now is a perfect time to plant spring-flowering bulbs, I haven’t yet but I might pop some more daffodils in simply because I adore them. I highly recommend planting ornamental Allium bulbs, I have ‘Purple Sensation’ and they’re so striking. There are some really large-flowered varieties available if you’re after something extra eye-catching.

How are you getting on at your veg patch or allotment?

7 thoughts on “September in the Garden Smallholding”

  1. I’m loving the weather. The light is so beautiful anyway at this time of year but with all this sunshine …. well its amazing. I’ve only had my allotment since January so although we’ve done pretty well I think the New Year’s resolution will be must try harder. My sweetcorn didn’t do anything because of the weather, shame this heatwave didn’t happen in August and carrots have been a disaster but we’ve had plenty of courgette, strawberries, beans and the cavolo nero has been superb.

  2. I had this post on auto publish, just as it went live a mini heatwave kicked in! So, even though everything looks autumnal, it certainly doesn’t feel like it! How strange, the hottest start to October since records began.

    Hi Wellywoman, sorry to hear your carrots and sweet corn didn’t do well – I guess I’ve been pretty lucky.

  3. Kohl rabi…what to do? Any ideas? :) Also i too have a couple of accidental broad beans coming up, so i planted some more out. I’ve never grown veg over winter, not sure why actually, so this will be my first year. In go broad beans, spinach, onions and garlic eeekkkk!!! Any tips?

  4. Hi Jo, I adore kohl rabi! I peel off the outer tough skin, dice and boil till soft – then mash it with butter and pepper! I’m sure there are plenty of other ways to cook it but I do love mashed vegetables.

    Everything you have listed should pretty much take care of themselves through the winter, particularly garlic. Birds will probably dig a few onion sets up while looking for worms, pigeons might go for your spinach. Broad beans will get frost damaged if they put on too much top growth so ideally you don’t want to see them emerging yet! A bit of fleece through cold spells should see them right. I’m going to put mine in small pots by the back door at the end of this month, then plant them in their final position once the soil is warm enough late winter or early spring. Mice and deer are a problem here for me, they love my beans and peas!

  5. Hi Karen, I am jealous of your carrot-fly free carrots, mine are terrible! Its mesh for them all next year… Crazy weather, but at least my later-planted corn should ripen well. I too love this time of year, and am busy planning for autumn sowings of broad beans and peas, and need to find some spring cabbage to sow too. Happy days! And still picking mangetout and French Beans and raspberries, though the last cabbage is in the fridge awaiting cooking. Enjoy the last of the October summer.

  6. Hi – I’ve just stumbled upon your blog through Mo at A Smallholding – can’t think how I haven’t come across your interesting blog before – I’ll certainly be visiting again.
    Elaine

  7. Thanks Janet, it’s back to the cold stuff now eh!? Better luck with your carrots for next year!

    Hello Elaine, thanks for your lovely comment!

Leave a Reply

