Cabbage Harvest

I’m not a huge fan of the Brassica family, particularly cabbage but I decided to give red cabbage a go this season. I grew a variety called ‘Rodeo’ which is a long season variety that can be cut from July to December. I cut a few with nice firm heads, peel back the lovely purple tinged leaves to reveal the beautiful ruby-red colour. 

This variety didn’t become a thug, was relatively pest free and stayed in its alloted space – a great ornamental for the flower borders if you’re low on space.

2 comments

  1. I love the appearance of red cabbage, but am not a great fan of the taste – put off by pickled red cabbage I suppose. I have one last green cabbage to pick, and I keep putting it off, as I know I am then out of excuses when it comes to clearing the whole bed and getting the green manure sown!

Leave a Reply

