First Harvest of Kohl Rabi

Interesting vegetable, kohl rabi. Some would say it’s ugly or alien-looking, but, I rather like the look of it. It’s a fast growing vegetable so with this in mind I grew them in small batches to get a continuous crop. I have a batch ready for harvest now, according to my books I should slice the bulbs off at the root when they are still small – roughly the size of a golf or tennis ball. I’ve never grown or eaten it before so this is a completely new experience for me.

A member of the brassica family, the bulb and leaves are edible but it’s usually the bulb that gets used. It’s surprisingly versatile which pleased me, it can also be used raw in salads. I’m slightly less worried about actually cooking kohl rabi now, if you’re a regular reader to the blog you will know how utterly useless I am in the kitchen!

I will let you know what I think.

3 comments

  1. Lovely! I’ve never used kohl rabi but I’m always intrigued by the look of it. I can’t wait to hear what you think.

  2. The raw taste test gets the thumbs up, it reminds me of white cabbage but not as peppery. Cooking some now to mash…….

Leave a Reply

