June in the Garden Smallholding

This month heralds an exciting and busy time for the kitchen gardener. The weather is warmer, days are longer and everything should be growing well, looking and smelling fantastic. Gone is the bare ground that was worked and nourished throughout autumn and early spring, now is the time to look forward to useful crops such as potatoes and garlic being lifted. Broad beans and peas should still be available in abundance, although it can be hard to keep up with the picking. Bean supports are usually put in place at the beginning of the month, ready for the many different varieties of beans that can be sown either in pots or directly into the ground.

If you made an early sowing of beets they should be ready for using now. All members of the squash family can be planted outside in June provided they’ve been fully hardened off. Greenhouse tomatoes might be ready for picking, I’ve done really well with mine this year, lots of large handsome fruits ready for picking now. Salad leaves are readily available for picking all through summer if you’re keen to grow them. I planted out the final block of sweetcorn this month, between here and the allotment I should get a steady and constant supply of sweet cobs. Well, that’s the plan. The onions are swelling nicely as are the first sowing of Kohl Rabi – a first for me.

Summer fruiting raspberries are fruiting now, not as well as I’d hoped but enough for the occasional harvest. They are however, producing plenty of new canes for next season. Currants and gooseberries are doing really well, so much so that I think I should make a jam before I end up with a glut. Actually, I’d forgotten how good gooseberries taste when fully ripe, I tend to pick them when they are more or less mushy to avoid a bitter taste.

I’m cutting lots of beautiful sweet pea for the house, the scent is wonderful. Enjoy your June kitchen garden!

5 comments

  1. It sounds like everything is going so well for you this year! I am especially jealous of the raspberries & sweetcorn. When I finally get a proper garden I am going to have these too! I hope the chickens are well x

  2. What an abundance of fruit and veg you have growing! I’m till waiting for toms at the moment but hoping they won’t be much longer; I do have courgettes growing though the squash plants are still establishing themselves; mangetout are going over and I’ve given up battling the black fly on the broad beans but the borlotti and runner beans are growing well. I don’t grow the same quantity of fruit that you do, but that picture of the berries you’ve posted and the description of the gooseberries makes me think that next year I must! Glad to hear that everything is growing so well for you, may the rest of the year continue in such abundance!
    Jason.

  3. Hi Rachel and Jason! So far so good, this cannot be said for the allotment but I guess I have to be patient! The chickens are doing OK considering a couple are pretty old, still getting 2-3 eggs a day though!

    Black fly seems to like my chard this year, the allotment is a nightmare for it so I might not bother growing broad beans there.

  4. Hi Karen. My sweetcorn is weenie, I think it is still sulking from the colder spell earlier in June, but otherwise I am picking pretty much everything you describe, and loving it. Though I will have to wait a year or two to get the kind of berry harvest you are enjoying! Am envious of you picking toms already though – I have plenty of fruit forming, but still all green.

  5. Bizarre how variable things can be….this year our summer raspberries are probably the best crop we’ve ever had….all gone now though :(

Leave a Reply

