Potato Harvest

The Charlotte potatoes are ready for lifting, oh how I love the smell of fresh potatoes from the soil. You can’t beat it. I adore the taste of Charlotte, they’re a good size salad potato and you can do pretty much anything with them. The seed potatoes had a pretty hot and dry start during the spring heat wave, a lot of watering had to be done which, I shan’t (is that a real word?) lie, was a total boring chore. They also dodged a late frost too thanks to a covering of cardboard, but I have to say I’m pretty pleased with the resulting tubers – even though the plants are much smaller than previous years.

I think I will make a nice minted potato salad today. Yum!

8 comments

  1. Mmmm, yum. I’ve only accidentally dug up some tiny potatoes whilst weeding but spent a very happy hour yesterday reading Nigel Slater’s recipes for new potatoes in Tender. I liked the sound of Charlottes with creme fraiche and dill, or – a real diet buster – crushed potatoes with cream, garlic and thyme. I’m sure however you cook them, they’ll be utterly delicious!

  2. I thought that might get your taste buds going! I had some (shop bought) Charlottes yesterday cooked, crushed slightly (allows the spud to absorb the flavours), flavoured with a drizzle of olive oil, a squeeze of lemon, sea salt, and cracked black pepper; leftovers refried to go with salmon fishcakes for supper. Delish!

  3. New potatoes are just scrummy. Sadly I had to dig mine up quickly because I was hit by potato blight, but at least it gave me a topic for a blog post :-))

  4. They look great. Where did you buy your seed potatoes from? I bought some from Unwins and had mixed results with them.

Leave a Reply

