Eggnormous!

Sorry for the silly post title, couldn’t resist.

A few days ago I collected an enormous egg from one of my chicken coops, I literally blinked in amazement upon first seeing it. I could tell simply from looking at the massive egg that Lily hen had laid it – you recognise colour, shape and patterns of each of your hens eggs. Well I do anyway! The first thing I did was check her vent and general well being, everything looked OK so I picked the egg up for a closer look. The shell was firm and the egg was unsurprisingly heavy, but heavier than I had originally expected. I began to suspect a double yolk egg, so I cracked it open. This is what I found….

As you can see from the photo, there’s a normal yolk and what looked to be either a yolk covered in shell or a smaller round egg. I decided to open up the other strange-looking ‘egg’ to see what was inside…..

You can clearly see that there isn’t a fully formed normal yolk, I believe this to be a wind egg? Correct me if I’m wrong. Even though I was amazed at the contents, I know of all sorts of strange stories with eggs (not just from ex batts) from running my ex battery hens forum . Lily is fine and back to laying normal size eggs, her diet and general health is good so it isn’t anything related to that. She is, however, pretty old for an ex battery hen. Egg laying can present problems in older hens, so my wild guess would be that it’s something to do with her age.

I hope she doesn’t lay another one like this in a hurry.

2 comments

  1. Blimey – that’s weird, and a bit gross. We had one the other day that was completely soft with no proper shell. Neither of us fancied it but the dogs seemed to enjoy it!

    Dave

  2. I don’t know how I missed this post, Karen, but Flighty directed me over here because we have just had the same thing happen :) Ours didn’t have a Yolk though, just the extra egg inside. Our Layers are young, too.

Leave a Reply

