Radish – Taste the Colours of the Rainbow

I thought I’d share a glimpse of some freshly pulled Bright Lights radish. Unfortunately not all the colour range is shown in the photo, its been a struggle to get  to them before my family rip them from the ground! But there are lots of lovely colours from white through to deep plum purple, they’re easy to grow too producing nice shape roots.

I’m not too keen on the yellow ones, I don’t know why but each yellow root is rough skinned and extremely hot, perhaps the drought we have been experiencing lately has something to do with it? Hmm not sure. I’ve tried pulling them at different sizes but each yellow one disappoints. Oh well, this won’t stop me from growing them again – for the popularity and surprise/fun factor!

6 comments

  1. I’m growing a range of radishes too. Easter Egg, French Breakfast and Purple. I’m excited, although… I hate radishes. Only my husband eats them. I like to eat the greens sauteed in butter!

  2. I love radishes, especially dipped in oil and salted! Even though they’re so cheap in the shops, I like to grow them – the excitement of pulling them up to see how big (or little) they are is great! I didn’t know you could get Bright Lights radishes – where did you get the seed?

  3. Hi there. I adore your blog and have been reading it for quite awhile now. I will be planting out some radish seeds today. Hopefully they will turn out better than my last attempt which produce plenty of lovely foliage but pretty much no radish. I have been looking into adopting some ex battery hens for my garden and found your post on building a coop very helpful. Now I just have to convince my boyfriend that they’re a worthwhile endeavour. Anyway I just wanted to thankyou for your lovely blog and look forward to reading more in the future :)

    XX Brooke

Leave a Reply

