Planting Summer and Autumn Fruiting Raspberry Canes

I planted Tulameen and Joan J raspberry canes at the weekend, 3 canes of each variety which will be plenty for my daughter and I, the only raspberry fans of the family. If you’ve never planted raspberry canes before it really is very easy. The following guide shows how I planted the summer fruiting (Tulameen) canes – hand model my very bored better half!

Bash a post into the soil (I used 8 ft long pieces of timber) against the centre edge, at each end of the bed. Using large-head screws or nails, place one at regular sections all the way up both posts, say about a foot apart and even on both posts. Don’t screw/hammer completely into the post, you need to leave a gap to attach wire.

Attach garden wire by wrapping around a screw head, stretch the wire across till it reaches the other post and wrap the wire to secure. Repeat this until you have enough wire secured all the way up the posts.

Plant the canes in the centre of the bed, just in front of the first wire. Space the canes about 60 cm apart, firm in and tie the canes onto the wire. Water them in well. A long narrow bed is ideal for planting raspberry canes, I planted just 3 canes into my 6 ft long x 3.5 ft wide raspberry bed, if you want to plant more canes use a longer bed.

The autumn canes are in another bed nearby, I’ve grown Joan J before and love the flavour. No special treatment needed for autumn canes, just pop them in a well prepared bed – supports aren’t generally needed because they don’t grow very tall. Cut down all growth on autumn varieties in February or March, they will fruit on the wood produced that year. Summer canes grow tall and need support, they fruit on the wood produced the previous year. New summer canes that are produced this year will bear next year’s fruits and should to be tied onto a wire support system. Cut down fruiting canes once you’ve finished harvesting, this should make pruning summer canes easier!

8 comments

  1. Mmm…I love raspberries, which is why I’ve got 20 canes, assorted but mostly unknown varieties, on the plot!
    Good post, and photos, showing how they should be planted and pruned. xx

  2. Nothing is better than plucking raspberries from the vine and eating them there and then (in my garden, very few make it back to the house). Great post. Fingers crossed for a year of plenty.

  3. Great advice! Raspberries can be very fast-spreading plants–make sure their offspring doesn’t choke each others roots.

    There’s nothing like coming across a raspberry plant in the forest.

  4. Thanks for all this good advice , Karen. (It’s only easy when you know how.) I went to a training course last autumn because our first batch of raspberries failed and this is my next task after getting my snowball onions in. I’ve got about 10 canes of summer fruiting variety to plant and your reminder about the spacing is very timely in considering where to put them in my tiny patch!

  5. Thank you for this. My two little btown sticks at £1 each bought from Poundland a few weeks ago are throwing out shoots so I hope to plant them this weekend. I have never grown raspberries before so this will be very useful. Fingers crossed they are actually raspberries. Someone wrote on my blog, they bought fruit canes from Poundland that turned out to be hibiscus!

  6. Oh dear! I grew a huge Hibiscus (Blue Bird) at our previous property, from memory they are very late into leaf – usually around May so you might be OK!

    Any idea if your canes are autumn or summer ones Ronnie?

  7. Don’t you just looooove raspberries fresh off the cane!!!! I think i am going to have to go out and buy some more now you have done this blog!! :)
    Good luck with your summer of fruit… not that you will need it as you’ve done a top job planting them.
    Simon.

Leave a Reply

