Freebie Strawberries

Last September I replaced some of my old strawberry plants with runners (baby strawberry plants) that were produced throughout the summer. The old strawberries were coming to the end of their productive life, so into the compost bins they went. I transplanted the largest runners that had good root systems outside in a new strawberry bed, covering each row with long plastic tunnel cloches during the worst of winter. The smaller runners left over from the end of last summer were potted up and left to overwinter in the mini greenhouse, just to give them a bit more protection. If you haven’t tried propagating your strawberries from runners give it a go this summer, it really is very easy to do and will save you money too.

As you can see from the photo the mini greenhouse specimens have fared pretty well and will be planted out into the strawberry patch with the others. They’re all young plants in the new strawberry patch and will probably fruit lightly, I have a few older productive plants dotted about so I won’t go without my beloved strawbs this summer.

6 comments

  1. Strawberries are generous in the free plant provision, aren’t they! I got given a load up at the allotments last week, and already had a load myself. We will be in strawberry heaven next year.

  2. They look really healthy! :)
    We don’t have Strawberries, well, not cultivated ones. We have loads of wild ones that run riot though.
    Steve is keen to get some this year. Mo

  3. It’s a sure sign of summer when we start picking and eating strawberries!
    I was given some when I took on the plot back in 2007, and I’ve just transplanted eight large plants, and six smaller, newer, ones.
    I actually prefer raspberries and blackberries, but have no trouble giving any unwanted strawberries away! xx

  4. You’re very organised dealilng with the runners in the autumn. I always fail to do this but I do find that, without fail, the runners will grow where they have taken root so I tend to take them up the following spring and pot them up to grow on. They’re incredibly tough too; last year I took the lawn mower over a few that had spread out from the strawberry bed to thwe lawn and yet they still grew back!

Leave a Reply

