Ready Steady Sow!

I can’t wait to get cracking for the growing season ahead, I have Charlotte seed potatoes chitting away, a second attempt at peas and broad beans (potted up undercover) and my impatient fingers are still itching to sow more seed. Our soil is not a hospitable place right now, it’s far too wet and cold for outdoor sowing and a little too early to sow anything else indoors for our tummies so I made a head start with sowing flower seed.

I have quite a few packets of flower seeds to choose from, I decided to sow lupin and foxglove because they are amongst my absolute favourites. I know from experience how hardy foxglove can be if planted out slightly early also how slow lupin can be to germinate, what I’m aiming for is strong little plants to put outside as soon as conditions are right – hopefully flowering the same year too.

I will sow more tender flowers around March/April, the garden should be a riot of colour and a haven for beneficial  insects. Yay!

7 comments

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who can’t hold off sowing!! I put in some Lavendar last week as it can take up to 50 days to germinate so I thought I’d try and get it off to a good start. I have a lot of seed packets which say for February germination inside….I’m going to be busy on Tuesday!! :)

    Good luck with your lupins and foxgloves. I have about ten lupin’s from last year in pots which I’m hoping will grow big enough to plant out this year. As for foxgloves….millions, all over, love them!

  2. Hi Geoff, thanks for your comment. I have been flicking through my seed packets tonight, I will start sowing leeks very soon, almost forgot! Glad to meet another foxglove fan ;)

  3. I am ignoring my urge to start seeds in the house. I know that it is still too early around here, although I would love it if it wasn’t! I have gone through my seeds over and over, dreaming about where I will put this veggie, or that flower. I have a true clean slate here at the house we are renting, no one has attempted flower or veggie. It will be an interesting spring!

  4. Found your blog looking for pheasant info (I have them in my garden!). I’ve bought some wildflower packet of seeds this year, one for prarie/grass planting and the other more cottage like for my butterfly border. I can’t wait to get sowing!!

  5. Hi Karen
    Can you tell me if your foxgloves will flower this year. I would love to have a try at growing these lovely cottage plants.
    Many thanks
    Sarah

  6. Hi Sarah,

    They did flower last year, I’m hoping they dropped plenty of seed for more this year. Most of mine come back year after year.

Leave a Reply

