January in the Garden Smallholding

It sure is cold and miserable out there but I have still managed to get a bit of gardening done. The last of the Leeks have been pulled (some were suffering from rust so were forgiven for looking a bit scruffy) and the plots given a good digging over and general tidy up with organic home compost forked in. I weighed down my collection of empty compost bags on top of the plots to help warm the soil for spring sowing, this should suppress the weeds for a while too. The sunflowers that were left for the birds to strip were mouldy and water-logged, no more seeds remained on the heads so these got the chop, bit of weeding and digging were needed to get the ground ready for spring. I just adore sunflowers and itching to get growing them again.

Already there are signs of life from the rhubarb patch, fat buds of Timperley Early are pushing through the soil just to tease me, I would love to force it but it needs at least another years growth with light harvest in order to make it a stronger plant. I shall resist the temptation. On the subject of forcing I have been hunting around lately for a terracotta forcing pot, they look so stylish nestled amongst the fat green rhubarb leaves don’t you think?

Seed potatoes are readily available now, just lay them out in a tray or egg boxes to chit with eyes uppermost in a cool frost-free place and by March /April they will be ready for planting out. I will probably get some Charlotte salad potatoes but I need to make my mind up on a main crop variety. I cut the autumn raspberry canes down and collected up what felt like a ton of leaves from the lawn for the compost bins and potted up autumn sowing broad beans – the bad weather claimed my outdoor sowing in December. With the constant wet weather I fear my new seeds will rot off in the ground, I don’t want to risk another disaster so germination in pots it shall have to be.

Daffodils are just starting to appear, lighter nights and a change in birdsong have me feeling all excited for the coming gardening year.

What have you been doing in your January garden?

2 comments

  1. Blog posts are like buses, you wait ages and then loads come along all at the same time. It’s lovely to see you post on here, I know from the Ex Batt Forum that things haven’t been going swimmingly with our feathered friends, I hope this means things are looking up and you have a little more time.
    I must go and check the rhubarb, it’s in the middle of the chicken run and when it pokes it’s bright red tender bits out they will get it if it’s not protected by an upturned old, wire supermarket basket.
    Kay x

  2. You are braver than I am. I still haven’t planted my garlic or broad beans. I was busy in November, then we had all that snow and I don’t seem to have had much time since, plus the weather hasn’t been inviting. I’m hoping to get out there planting today, but first I have to clean the chickens out.

Leave a Reply

