Vegetable Garden

Purple Haze Carrots

Back in May I had a bash at growing a new type of carrot for me, ‘Purple Haze’. As the name suggests it is indeed a purple-skinned carrot but with an orange centre. The long thick roots have a vivid colour, I am pleased with the end result. They are best eaten raw (although you can cook them) and look very decorative when sliced and added to a salad, good flavour but personally I prefer the stronger flavour of the orange varieties that I like to grow.

I bought my ‘Purple Haze’ seeds from Thompson & Morgan and I think I will try yellow carrots next year. I still have a few rows left in the ground to be lifted soon. Have you tried a different colour carrot? How did they compare to your orange ones?

Leave a Reply

