A Good Year for Tomatoes

Tomatoes 2009

Well it is for me anyway! I started mine from seed and gave half my plants to my dad. He planted his in deep grow bags sited in full sun in the middle of his veg garden, while I chose to use pots against the house wall, early morning and late evening sun with some degree of shelter from rain. My dads tomatoes died a blighty old death a couple of weeks ago,  mine however are going great guns and producing good size tomatoes that ripen well on the vine.

Tomatoes 2009

I believe a combination of planting seedlings deep when potted on, shelter from rain, not too much sun, weekly feeding and not over watering has helped with the success of tomato growing this year. It’s now September, the weather has turned autumnal and my plants are still deep green, producing, thriving with good size tomatoes ripening on the plants. I will try this method again next year and compare. I think my dad will too!

Were your tomatoes a success or failure this year?

12 comments

  1. So far so good!

    My dad is growing tomatoes in our small backyard, and I think that the San Francisco Indian Summer is great weather conditions for them!

    Would share a picture if I could :)

  2. My plants all died because I was stupid enough to have a holiday and leave my eldest son in charge of watering. Not a single tomato this year which is only slightly worse than the handful I got last year because the heavy rains brought on blight. I’m beginning to think I should give up.
    Kay x

  3. My tomato growing efforts up until now have always ended in blight, so please dont give up Kay x
    Glad your tomatoes are doing well Xavier, I would love some San Francisco weather, stuff the tomatoes! hee hee

  4. We’ve had a good year for tomatoes too, we started off with two plants my parents gave us. Since I’m not a gardener I wanted to try taking cuttings and trying to make them grow, which ended up with another two plants!

    It’s strange how you can just cut bits off – stick them in the ground, and hey presto, they grow the most amazing root balls!

    We planted all our stuff in a polytunnel this year and the results were very impressive!

    :D

  5. Hi Karen,

    Love your blog! I am just about to plant some tomato seedlings, I have been tossing up where to plant them,after reading your entry this week I have decided on a spot somewhere warm facing all the sun and also protected, you have made my mind up for me! Just hoping for a long hot Aussie summer to give me a good crop! Hope all your chickens are clucking away nicely?
    Sarah McGrath

  6. Our tomatoes have done surprisingly well this year too – which is a good thing as the baby loves them – she eats them like they were sweets! :)

  7. They look so yummy! I didn’t grow any, it would be hard to do while hiking, I don’t know if tomatoes would like to hike. But my mom’s tomatoes did wonderful. She always plants hers at the end of the house, which is pretty much south facing. They get a little protection from the rain, and I think the warmth reflecting off the building helps too. Keep enjoying your bounty!

  8. Hi Karen
    I’ve had a reasonable crop this year after two years blighted failures, greenhouse ones much better than outdoors. And this late fine spell has encouraged more flowering, so should get some late toms even if they’re green! Kathy

  9. Hi Karen,

    love your site! I am a first time garden smallholder, just moved out to Australia and loving how the weather makes things so much easier than in the UK. I have been growing some tomatoes, which have grown like crazy and now fruiting but I’m a bit concerned because some of the leaves (mostly near the stem) are turning brown and falling off! There still seems to be fruit, but is this normal? Do you know if there is something I can do? My first thought was not enough water but I have been giving them lots and the fruit doesn’t seem to be affected! Any advice from other garden enthusiasts would be most welcome!!

Leave a Reply

