Chicken Dramas and Intros

Hope

It’s all been going on here.

The two new hens that joined us in May were not in the best of health, that’s battery farming for you. They have been very poorly indeed, lots of worry, lots of medicines and lots of finger crossing lately. They were suffering from a number of illnesses, the first one to come to light was brachyspira, becoming more common now in laying flocks. Just when things were calming down and looking promising for the pair, one of them was struck down with coccidiosis. Off her legs and passing blood, she really was on death’s door. More testing and meds from my saviours, Retford Poultry and once again we were on the home straight. Then, just when things were on the up, an egg drama reared its ugly head almost cruelly finishing off the other hen. She became egg bound which then burst inside her. I intervened in the end and helped her ‘deliver’ the mangled mass of shell which was well and truly stuck, managing to get it all from her in one large piece while she passed the yolk contents. Very messy indeed but also very necessary, many egg bound hens die.

I can safely say these ordeals have certainly added a few grey hairs to my locks and ribbons to my chicken CV. But most importantly, I have not been put off chicken keeping or keeping ex battery hens for that matter. They are little fighters and have such a zest for life, grabbing each new day by the throat and really going for it, despite already being weak and ravished by the battery system from which they came. A few months down the line and they both appear to be making a very good recovery, once again beating the ‘system’ and that makes me smile inside.

They have been introduced to their new friends and all went well, not too much fighting but of course being armed with meal worms really does help matters! Chickens are calmer as night draws in so sometimes it is easier to introduce new chickens by putting them in the coop with the others to sleep, then removing the new hens the following morning whilst keeping them within sight but out of reach for a few days, repeating the night-time process. Chickens are like us, they recognise faces and seeing the new hens regularly will help with the introductions. Once a new pecking order has been established the chickens will all be happier. When you are satisfied that fighting is minimal and not serious, they can be left together permanently.

I’m certainly no chicken expert, I keep a small flock of  ‘damaged goods’ hens packed with big characters that help me learn and gain new experiences all the time – not all bad either, most of the time they have me howling with laughter. Ex battery hens can DO that, they are infectious. I’m happy to share with others if it helps at all (not the howling) the knowledge and experience that sometimes manages to wedge its way in. Hopefully the two new hens, Becki and Hope will stick around for a while longer yet. Got to give it to them, they certainly enjoy life even though it has thrown a few cruel punches at times.

6 comments

  1. Well done for your care and perseverance. Whatever happens, they are in the best of hands and you have given them a few months of freedom and ‘the good life’ already. Hope they have many more months to come. I don’t think I could cope with the stress levels.

    I’ve decided to sell some of our spare eggs at work, and so far I have 50p. If I get a few pounds I shall give them to a chicken-related charity. Maybe chicken re-homing, or maybe Compassion in World Farming.

  2. What lucky hens they are to have found their forever home with you! I am having real probelms with one of my ex batts that the others just will not accept, no matter what I try. They have taken the skin off the back of her neck twice. But like you say they just have such an incredible will to survive & enjoy every last drop of their new free-ranging existence that they seem bomb-proof! She still lays me an egg every day & it does bring me to tears because she is such a lovely little soul. I’ve been advised to try coating Jess with special tar so I’m going to give that a go next. Fingers crossed.

  3. Thank you Karin, they certainly do live the good life now! Stress levels are high here at times! Thank you for considering a hen rescue to donate to x

    Thank you Jo, my medal is seeing these poor chickens enjoy being alive for once x

    Thank you Sara :) Try Ukadex anti peck spray for poor Jess, but, be warned, its seriously stinky stuff but it comes highly recommended for bullying problems!
    Have you joined the ex battery hens forum? Would love to see you there x

  4. Thanks Karen, do you know where I can by the stinky stuff? I have joined the forum but things have been busy here with one thing & another so I haven’t actually used my log in yet! Thanks for your advice. Jess seems happy enough as a solo hen in my garden (she’s ‘redesigning’ it!!!)but I’m not going to get any veg grown at this rate!! Sara x

Leave a Reply

