Chicken Run DIY in Photos

Building the chicken run

One of our chicken runs got a DIY make over yesterday. The extension took less than no time with my brother and dad on hand to build the panels and fix them onto the back of the run to open it up further. This now makes it near enough as large as our other chicken run.

Putting the frames together….

Putting the frames together

Wire mesh goes on……

Wire mesh

Putting the roofing sheets on……

Roof sheets going on

Nearly done…..

Chicken run nearly finished

Ta Da!

Chicken Run

56 comments

  1. What sort of wire mesh did you use? Depends where you live of course but I spent a fortune on VERY strong wire mesh to keep out foxes who went straight through the non-reinforced stuff. However for the amount of mesh that you’ve used it would cost hundreds of dollars for that much.
    Nice design and execution though…

  2. We used 19 gauge galvanised weld mesh, cost was approx £50 for a 30 metre roll and we have loads spare!

  3. Hi,
    Your chook run looks fabulous, just what I’m looking for. How did you secure it to the ground? Is the roof made up of roofing sheets and wire mesh or is part of it open? Also, after the panels were made, was it assembled insitu around the chook house?
    Thanks Glynis

  4. Hi Glynis

    The run is so heavy that it doesn’t need securing down. The roof timbers are covered in mesh and then the plastic roof panels were placed on top. The run was assembled around the coops, there was no way my coops would fit through the door.

    I hope this helps :)

  5. Hi There,

    I have only just found this. I am wondering if you still have this Chicken run and if possible let me know the entire dimensions please and how many birds you have. We have just got some pullets and some will grow to fairly large birds and I want to ensure they have adequate space when they cannot be let out to roam the garden.

    Many thanks in advance
    Naomi :-))

  6. Hi Naomi,

    Each one of my walk-in runs are approx 9ft wide x 17 foot long and just over 6ft high.
    The maximum number of hens that have ever been kept in one run is 7. I currently have 2 walk-in runs, one only has 2 hens occupying it at present, the other has 4. This is plenty of room for them when not free ranging.

    Hope this helps :)

  7. hi there what a fab run i am getting three bantams soon will your chickens stay in this run or do you let them out to roam?

  8. This is exactly what I’m looking to build. Thanks for the picture tutorial; that helps! One question, though: Are you concerned about predators digging underneath the run? I’m thinking I’ll need to extend the hardware cloth underground a bit. What do you think?

  9. Hi Sonia, we let them out to roam when someone is there to watch them. We’re surrounded by farmland and foxes are around.

    Hi Katrina, inside the runs are slabbed with paving slabs (not shown in these pics) with soft horse bedding on top so that the chickens can scratch around. We have put heavy blocks all the way round on the outside, the runs sit partially on a concrete path at the back. You can bury the mesh if you prefer, I personally prefer the blocks.

  10. The run looks great! You mentioned you used 2×2 pressure treated timber. Did you double them up on any part of the run or are they all 2×2 standing alone?

  11. Hi John, thanks for your kind comment regarding the walk-in chicken runs. The panels were all made separately, then joined/screwed together. Same thing for the roof panels. The joins make it strong, the only place where the wood doubles up. Hope this has answered your question?

    Karen

  12. Hi Karen! The run is gorgeous! I built one last fall but didn’t put a roof on it. Is there any chance you can take a few more pictures of the roof and post them here or email them to me? =)

  13. Thank you, William. I will send you an email once I’ve taken some photos. Please remind me if you don’t hear from me!

    Karen

  14. I love the chicken run!! We are going to start ours after lunch. What did you use for the roof? Thanks

  15. Your chicken run photos are just what i needed to invision my soon to be chicken run and help my husband understand what i want. Thank you so much!

  16. Good luck with building your run, I will be moving mine to a different location in the garden at some point this year, more photos to come.

  17. Excellent run Karen!

    So much so I have 25 2″x2″ being delivered tomorrow, a roll of galvanised mesh in the hallway and hoping to follow the design above (at least as far as the space we have).

    Quick question: how did your brother measure/cut the inside edge support bits? I assume lay a piece of wood across and mark it. Not having done anything like this before. Just checking before I have a garden full of off-cuts!

  18. Oh good luck with your project, Ben!

    He cut it to size using a mitre saw, hopefully you have one too. I suppose you could lay the wood across and cut it, then once you have it right use it as a template – but what do I know! ;)

  19. Thanks Karen. Sadly not ;D, the only saw I have is covered in rust in the shed, will need replacing but mitre saws look a little pricey, so will battle on. Thanks again.

  20. You’re welcome, Ben. I know those saws can be pricey, I’m sure it can be done without one though.

  21. Think I may have a workaround for anyone else who finds themselves in the same position: mitre boxes or blocks. Plastic containers that you place your wood in and saw through the groove. From £3.00. Wickes, B&Q etc

    Thanks!

  22. Hi – I know you bought this a while ago but can you recommend a supplier for galvanised mesh at a good price? I love your design & will be setting to work this Spring! Many thanks in advance.

  23. Hello there, love your chicken run what I am hoping my husband is going to make me!. could you please tell me where you bought your original run from and roughly how much it cost you. We are wondering if it works out the same to buy a pre made one rather than doing it from scratch. many thanks.
    .

  24. Hi Lesley,

    I bought mine from a guy called Mark, he used to have a website (I can’t find it now) but now he’s selling through Ebay, here’s the link to a similar run but ours are bigger. I’m sure Mark will make you one to size if you ask.
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CHICKEN-FERRETT-PIGEON-BIRD-AVIARY-RUN-UK-DELIVERY-AVAILABLE/281090284709?ssPageName=WDVW&rd=1&ih=018&category=46292&cmd=ViewItem

    Phone 07706034215 or 01952 540914

    VERY helpful and well made. Best of luck :)

  25. Thank you so much for your swift reply ! :-). very kind of you. I will get hubby to have a look at the website tomorrow. . I will let you know how we get on in due course. I really enjoy reading your blog and find it very helpful, I look forward to read your future posts!. All the best x

  26. Hi again, I’ve got my mesh ordered from ‘Hills of Devon’ thanks for the recommendation – great value for money!
    I’ve got one more question ref the roofing, it doesn’t look like your roof has an angle to allow water run off, is this important or doesn’t it matter? When constructing my frame I want to try & get it right first time! :)
    Many thanks again for your time & wisdom…
    Mark

  27. Hi Mark, the roof does have a slight angle to it (just not shown very well in the photos) due to the floor sloping slightly to give a good run off. We’ve since put in cross beams to strengthen and prevent the roof sheets from sagging under the weight of snow after it turns to ice! You learn these things as time goes by.

  28. Hi. After a long cold winter I have finally got round to building my first chicken run inspired by your pictures. My run is 5.5 metres long x 1 metre depth which I have almost finished. I constructed it all together first (making each frame was the hardest and most time consuming!) then once assembled I stained it with a good wood stain with 2 coats before finally stapling the wire mesh on which I have yet to do, which brings me to my question; is it best to staple the mesh to the inside or outside of the frames? Looks like your run has the mesh on the outside but I was thinking of fixing it to the inside as I think it would look neater as you wouldn’t see the staples. Or would this make it easier for predators to try and get in?
    I would prefer to fix it to the inside but obviously safety and security are the priority for my chickens which I will be getting very soon! Many thanks for any advice you can offer.

  29. Many thanks for the very quick reply. Yes I was thinking the same about any sharp edges may cause injury to the chickens. That’s made my decision now. Thanks again!

  30. Hi again. I am sorry to keep asking but was wondering if you could give me some advice please, having almost finished my chicken run I had the idea to construct it in a way so I wouldn’t have to go inside it to collect the eggs. So I lay my coop width ways and cut a hole just big enough in one of the mesh panels and had the egg box of the coop poking through the mesh so it would be easy access. I then made sure that the mesh is securely stapled to the coop and no gaps were accessible. Thinking this is a good idea I am not so sure now as now that the egg box is exposed to the outside of the run just how safe is it? Could foxes bite or chew there way through the wooden egg box? I really don’t want to change the position of my coop but not sure what to do now. I was planning on getting the chickens today but think I may have to make some adjustments first. What do you think? Thanks again for any advice you can offer.

  31. Hi Mark, it really depends on how solid or well-made your coop is. If it’s made from strong, thick timber then it should be OK but I cannot guarantee this of course. I’d make sure the lid closes tightly (no gaps at all) and can be locked securely (I have a small padlock on mine even though it’s inside the run). Foxes have been known to lift lids of nest boxes up with their noses to gain access to coops. You could staple pieces of wire mesh to the underside of the next box for extra security, rats can be a problem too.

  32. Many thanks for your reply. it’s really appreciated. I have decided to move the whole coop inside the run and re-mesh the part which I cut out. Although it was a good idea I think I would be asking for trouble somewhere down the line! Better to be safe than sorry!

  33. This is just what I was looking for for inspiration to build my own run! It looks great :) I’m going to start making my plans and source the materials. Can I ask where you for got the roof panels from please?

  34. This is such a clean and easy design….I live here in the states across the pond. We are getting ready for our new coop and run…we are city dwellers but I just had to have some chickens! Your design will work wonders for me to build. Thanks so much my far away friend. :D

  35. Hi Julie, many thanks for your kind comment. I love my chicken runs, they’re so easy to keep clean (especially with the floor being slabbed) and because of the head height they’re kind to my back! The chickens love the space and the security from predators. Good luck with your build!

  36. hi, not sure if you will reply as this was put on here some time ago but can you give me a full list of everything you used to make your run. included any equipment.
    thank you very much

  37. Thank you so much for your Pictorial. So happy to see you are still monitoring this post after so much time! I have been looking for a basic plan for a run I can handle building myself, and doing the panels like this w/ 2x2s looks like my solution! As Kay requested, could you please also email the materials info to me as well? It appears the spacing is about 2′ on center, so 48″ wire can be attached at every other upright? Thank you for any information you can provide! ~Whitney~

  38. Just to say, this inspired me to build my own run last year. I used the info and supply details to source wood and aviary mesh and it works absolutely brilliantly. The beauty is that I built individual panels that simply bolted together so I can extend it at any time. I buried the wire and then placed slabs around the outside – it has deterred everything so far. Thank you for all the information – it proved extremely useful!

  39. Hi, I’m delighted that I found some inspirattion about keeping hens on Pinterest from a UK contributor! There’s a huge amount of info but not much within the UK.
    I’ve built a run before but it was in a small garden so I used some old concreted in fence posts to secure my build to. I just built it as I went along so it was a bit ramshackle, but it did the job. Had to move away from there but I’m hoping to persuade my daughter to let me keep hens in her garden soon.
    Your method of building a run looks so simple in design that I think I could tackle the job again. If you could send your manpower over to Notts it would be even easier!
    Many thanks

Leave a Reply

