Our New Ex Batts

Ive been so busy lately that I have been neglecting the blog a little, also our readers blogs. So sorry! I shall make some time to get back into the swing of blogging a bit more than I have. I just don’t seem to have enough hours in the day lately.

Anyway, I realise its also been quite some time since I updated the photos of our new ex battery hens that we re-homed in February from Free At Last hen rescue. As some will recall, we lost our dear Shazzy hen and were left with 3 rather scraggy hens. Well, here is how they look now:

Auntie Marge

Brenda

Chrissie

Brenda seems to be doing well since recovering from sour crop which is good news. On a sadder note, Chrissie has gone on to develop EYP. She was a bit of a mess in the egg laying department when she arrived but she did lay. I want to point out that I specifically asked for needy ex batts this time, so these sort of problems I’m afraid come with hens that have been pushed to the limit. I’m not at all sorry that I did, they have brought me much joy which far outweighs the sad times. Chrissie’s EYP is manageable at the moment, I shall keep a close eye on how she copes with it and take it from there. Its all I can do.

I thought I would do a photo comparison that some may find interesting, it also shows why I do what I do! Below is a photo of Auntie Marge on the day of her rescue from a battery farm. Her condition was shocking, as were the other 3 hens we rehomed with her due to spending a longer period of time than usual in the battery farm. This was all down to an increase in egg sales over the Christmas period. I would like to thank those people who contributed to her longer sentence by knowingly buying eggs from caged hens. Not!

Auntie Marge

A few months later this is the same hen, not completely feathered up yet but much healthier and happier.

Auntie Marge

7 comments

  1. Those hens are looking beautiful and much healthier. If I lived by you I’d totally be taking some ex battery hens. I really admire you guys for doing that and bringing attention to the treatment of these hens. It’s absolutely horrid.

    I guess I can relax a bit about the kids chasing the chickens every now and then. At least the chickens can run away!

  2. What a transformation – not only in appearance but in her stance too – she looks so much happier and well, more chicken-like in the recent pic. Its truly wonderful what you do Karen.

  3. Well done you!

    Auntie Marge is looking great – it’s a shame she was so poorly before – her comb is such a light pink colour!

    I hope people read this and consider taking on ex-batts…

    …we were a bit sceptical, but as it turns out all ours are doing really well.

    :D

    Here’s hoping your rescues go well.

  4. It’s good to see they’ve put on a lot of feathers, but it will clearly be a bit longer before they are totally covered. It just shows how badly nourished and unhealthy they were when you got them. Keep up the good work.

    I don’t know how you do it mind, I find our healthy young chickens quite worrying enough at the moment, although they still seem fine, but we’re still learning about what is normal.

  5. Awww they look really good. It’s so nice to see them free and growing back feathers when you can only imagine what conditions they did live in. Ours aren’t too impressed with the rain, but it doesnt stop them coming out and pecking around!

  6. Hi Crafty Green Poet, thank you for your comment. Most of it boils down to cost, like many other things in life I guess. A small percentage of people that buy battery produced eggs and produce would stop if they were better informed, but there will always be the few who just dont care either way.

    The new girls are coming along well, TLC does wonders for them.

Leave a Reply

