Uncategorized

And It Snowed….

Snowman February 2009

The biggest snowfall for 18 years hit most of the UK big styleee. It started last night and continued throughout most of today. London was worse affected, bringing the capital crashing to its knees. Now there’s a surprise. Meanwhile, here in Bedfordshire it was a peaceful winter wonderland.

Our daughters school closed half day as the weather worsened, our sons school was closed full stop much to his delight. I spent some time with our children today building a snowman. Although I was frozen solid and my hands and feet throbbed with  pain from being so cold, today brought back so many memories of my childhood during the long forgotten harsh winters.

Another day of snow filled fun awaits our children tomorrow, their schools are to remain closed. The chickens were soooo not impressed with the snow, I was quite concerned about them today. They are by large sheltered from the worst of it but they still sulked all the same, choosing to spend most of the day inside the coop. Only 1 egg today, says it all really.

On the vegetable front, I started off some garlic in small pots yesterday. Hurrah! I finally got something done, although I totally forgot to buy some seed potatoes at the weekend. Duh!

2 thoughts on “And It Snowed….”

  1. Yay for snow! I love the snowman – we never got round to making one as baby small was so poorly but she’s on the mend now so I’m happy. Well done on getting started with the growing – we’re still in the early planning stages – have a good idea what we’d like to grow but have to work out where it all needs to go!

  2. Thanks Rebecca :)
    There is still so much that needs to be done before we can get anything in the soil so my potatoes (when I remember to buy them) will have to go into a temporary bed for now, or pots, not sure yet!

Leave a Reply

