Plans

Plans and Flu

Veg Garden Gate

For fear of sounding like a right old moaner, I refrained from blogging over the Christmas holidays about the lack of activity within the garden smallholding due to flu hitting our household the week before Christmas. I still cannot seem to shake it. Obviously when you have animals to care for their needs MUST be met everyday, even if you feel like you cannot lift your head from your pillow. Some mornings I felt just like that. A lot of people it seems were affected by this darn flu bug during the Christmas festivities, it really knocks you for six.

The mini orchard plans have come to a grinded halt as well as everything else. I wanted to get some sort of plan drawn up for the vegetable garden, the plot is so overgrown at the moment its hard to visualise where the vegetable beds will be just by looking at it. Im feeling a lot better than I did so I will try and get on with the plans which I think will help tremendously.

Seeds

We are working on the theory of having 5 decent size beds, with one being a permanent bed and the other 4 rotating what we grow each year. How this will work in practise we have yet to see! I think it will help if  we work out exactly what our family are more likely to eat and go from there. It can be very tempting to grow as much as you can squeeze in, but im sure that would lead to waste which I would hate. Also, I dont wish to make the same mistake as last year by punching above my weight attempting crops that were just too difficult for a beginner. Of course they dwindled, shriveled and died and it left me feeling a bit deflated overall. But, I did have some success though!

So my plan for the next few weeks is to come up with some sort of drawing that I can refer back to when the time comes to clear the plot of brambles and nettles. Not all of it is going though, just the area we need for growing our vegetables. We are very lucky to live next to a mini woodland thats bursting with wildlife. I am hoping to see many butterflies this coming spring and summer and leaving the nettles and bramble wildpatch area will be the perfect habitat for some of our native species, and hopefully some good photographs!

4 thoughts on “Plans and Flu”

  1. I am sorry to hear that you haven’t felt well. Our family was hit during the holidays also, and it seems like everyone else we know was also. Not fun. I love planning out garden beds, its hard to picture at first some times, but its nice to be able to draw and re-draw, until things look right. Good luck!

  2. we’ve all been poorly over Christmas too so I can sympathize! It’s seems almost everyone I know has been ill at some point recently – lots of nasties going around it seems. Anyhow, hope you’re feeling better now. Good luck with the planning – we really need to get stuck into sorting our garden out soon too – have so many things we want to do though it’s hard to know where to start!
    x

Leave a Reply

