Uncategorized

Green Meme #1

A Little Slice Of Life has tagged us, thankyou! I finally managed to grab 5 mins to myself so here goes……

The Guidelines:

1. Link to Green Meme Bloggers

2. Link to whoever tagged you

3. Include meme number

4. Include these guidelines in your post

5. Answer questions (erm – that bit’s quite important)

6. Tag 3 other green bloggers.

1. Name two motivations for being green: 

1. My children. I worry about what state this planet will be in when the time comes for them to have children of their own.

2. Nature, animals and wildlife. I have loved the outdoors since a child and feel most happiest when surrounded by the fruits of nature.

2. Name 2 eco-unfriendly items you refuse to give up

1. My hair dryer, I have very long hair and really need a hair dryer!

2. My car, BUT I am walking more and more and now use it only when necessary.

3. Are you at peace with, or do you feel guilty about no.2?

I feel terribly guilty about what my exhaust fumes are doing to the planet, hence why I would rather walk than drive.

 4. What are you willing to change but feel unable to/stuck with/unsure how to go about it?

Probably my car. At the moment I cannot be car free, so im a little stuck with this one.

5. Do you know your carbon footprint for your home? If so, is it larger/smaller than your national average?

We have just moved into our current house, and according to the HIP report it is actually not too bad. We are looking into the possibilty of using solar energy some time in the future, this will be something we would consider changing.

6. What’s eco-frustrating and/or eco-fantastic about where you live?

Eco frustrating: 

Even though we live in a small rural village, cars are still a boil on the landscape. I would love to travel everywhere by horse, oh what a wonderful world that would be.

Bottle Banks. We dont have any in our village, and the recycling scheme will not take them, so a trip by car is necessary to deposit them in the next village bottle banks. Argghhh!

Eco fantastic:

The local schools are teaching the children to live a more greener lifestyle, they even have a flock of hens and some ducks for the children to look after. The recycling scheme is easy to use.

7. Do you eat local/organic/vegetarian/forage/grow you own?

We have started growing our own. We keep chickens too.  If I buy in produce I prefer organic wherever possible and have been checking out the local produce which is very good so far.

8. What do you personally find the most challenging in being green?

My car ! I really wish I did not need it.

9. Do you have a green confession?

Still having to rely on the supermarket frequently, I hate them!

10. Do you have the support of family and/or friends?

My other half is supportive of my choice to keep hens. He spent all of last weekend in the freezing cold rain putting the roof on the chicken run even though he moans and groans about the hens some of the time, especially when he treads in a chicken poop! One thing I will say though, he is very supportive of my views on intensive farming, particularly battery hens.

My parents grow their own fruit and veg, and enjoy free fresh eggs from our hens.

Ok, I now have to choose 3 other blogs to take part but im struggling to find ones that have not already been tagged! Ok for now I chose Stiggy over at One Man And His Chickens. Hope thats ok?!

1 thought on “Green Meme #1”

Leave a Reply

