Gertcha Rabbits!

allotment wire fence

Our allotment site is fenced with chicken wire to prevent rabbits from entering from the railway and fields beyond. As predicted, rabbits are finding ways to get in, along with deer. It was soon obvious that all the plots would benefit from being fenced too, around half of the plots are now protected but those that aren’t are having problems with crops being eaten, including ours.

blue allotment shed

Last year the little fuzzy butts ate all the carrot tops (then dug some of them, up scattering them everywhere), dug a whacking great hole in the potato bed and pooped all over the plot. This year, rabbits or deer munched garlic tops down to the stalks and damaged fruit bushes. I’m all for wildlife but enough is enough!

allotment photo

Last weekend Rich and I put a fence around our plot using chicken wire and wooden posts, stapling the wire onto the edges of the raised beds and paths to stop anything from digging under. I’ve visited our plot everyday this week and cannot see any further damage. We covered the garlic over with wire frames about a month ago and it’s recovering nicely now. The funny thing is, I thought I’d hate having a fence around the plot, in actual fact I quite like it. It makes the plot feel more like our little place, without losing the feel of community gardening or shutting our neighbours out. And our crops are a little bit harder to get at.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. “fuzzy butts”
    :-)
    Good work

  2. Jeanne Grunert

     /  April 17, 2014

    They will get in anywhere! I had to fence in our entire garden, and now the fence is sagging near the gate, and we are starting to see them edging closer. I have the feeling this might be war soon…good luck, nice looking veggies!

  3. It reminds me of Wallace and Gromit in the Curse of the WereRabbit! I do hope the chicken wire keeps them out, it’s so frustrating when you spend so long growing things and the pests come along and destroy them in a moment.

  4. I have a similar argument with squirrels every year. I may have to try the chicken wire. If it can keep out rabbits, maybe it can do the same for squirrels. Good luck to you!

  5. I hope the fence works for you. We aren’t allowed fencing and have a little rabbit damage. But we also have coyotes so that helps, too. Maybe you could try to find some of those :)

  6. Fingers crossed the fence keeps working

  7. Funny I just blogged about our new raccoon-proof fence, which I’m sure is an oxymoron. Tis the season for our beloved baby seedlings to get trampled and tossed around. Drives me crazy! Hope yours does the job :)

  8. I hope its’s a case of problem solved.

  9. Ah yes, we have foxes which are beautiful creatures, I’ll keep an eye out for coyotes ;)

  10. Plot is looking good, Karen. I agree the fencing gives your plot a cosy feel and adds to the overall look. I’ve got netting to go round the veg patch island as I have problems with neighbourhood cats and urban foxes – not to mention slugs, snails, children’s footballs… I could go on! I like the look of the wooden stakes but am trying cheaper bamboo canes as a first option (although I know they won’t last as long!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,966 other followers

