A New Home

ladybird in a bug box

I have some news to share – we’re moving house next week.

We’re staying in the village, upsizing to a lovely big family home. I will be sad to leave my vegetable garden behind but happy with the knowledge the new owners are looking forward to joining the ‘grow your own’ way of life.

Our new garden has the most beautiful Koi pond I’ve ever seen, complete with a small bridge. Stepping down the huge rock steps the garden is mostly a blank canvas of extensive lawn and established fruit trees. There’s a greenhouse but sadly no veg garden. Once I’ve had enough time to get to know my new garden I will think about how I could design a raised bed veg patch around the greenhouse, sleepers would look lovely. But for now my allotment will be my place to grow vegetables and get stuck into the growing year.

I will post again once we’re settled, so please bear with me!

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Congratulations on your new home! Lovely photo!

  2. Thank you Susan!

  3. Best of luck with the move – and all the enjoyment ahead of planning what to do with your new potential growing space. To have fruit trees too, and a pond, what a bonus! Tracey

  4. Thank you Tracey, we’re really looking forward to getting to know our new home and garden.

  5. Lucky you, it sounds wonderful. I hope that the move goes well. xx

  6. Thank you Flighty! x

  7. Congratulations on your new home!

  8. Thank you Jo Ann!

  9. Good luck with the move Karen, look forward to seeing your new Koi pond – and the rest of your garden – in due course. I managed to lose my subscription to your blog, so I am hopelessly out of date, at least I will be in at the beginning of you blogging about your new abode!

  10. Ah thank you Janet, I hope your new home/garden is coming along well. Once I’ve settled in I will have more time to browse other blogs, last year seemed so hectic with one thing or another.

  11. All the best in your new home and enjoy getting to know your new garden. :-)

  12. All the best with your move. Sounds very exciting :-)

  13. Good Luck in your new home. I hope you find some exciting discoveries in the garden. I am sure many will appear throughout the year for you to enjoy. Great picture of the ladybird in its home. Could I copy it to use in in articles in our lottie website please?

  14. Thank you everyone and thank you Green Bench Ramblings! Yes, you’re welcome to use my photo :)

  15. Fortunate that your hard work at your allotment means that you have some veg growing space still – I think it would otherwise be quite hard to leave your current home. You’ll certainly be very busy this year planning the new garden – I wish you well and hope your move goes smoothly! Caro x

  16. Cheers! Much appreciated.

  17. Thank you Caro, I’m so lucky to have my allotment.

  18. Exciting news! Congratulations. Looking forward to seeing the new place.

  19. Lots of good luck for your move! x

  20. Thank you everyone! I’m going to be offline very soon, not sure how long for.

  21. Heidi

     /  January 29, 2013

    Good luck with the move, hope the family and the girls settle in and enjoy their new surroundings perfect time with spring on the horizon!

  22. Good Luck with the move to your new home. I look forward to reading about your new adventures!

  23. Hope your move is going well. I love the photo!!

  24. Good luck, looks like I’ve found your blog at an opportune time!

    Have done a similar thing recently, and gave up my allotment to grow veg in the garden. I feel completely reinspired, and it sounds like the same has happened to you.

    Look forward to reading more. :)

  25. andreamynard

     /  February 7, 2013

    Good luck with your move, very exciting planning a new garden! New to your blog and really enjoying it. Love your jewellery.

  26. Hey Karen. I’ve been away from the blogging circle for a wee while but now back with a new enthusiasm :) all the very best with the move. It’s nice that you are staying in the same area and upsizing even though it may throw you off your gardening groove for a bit. I’m sure you will get back to it in no time, you are an excellent grower. Fantastic pic as always, these guys are my best defence against pests attacking my beloved chillies!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,905 other followers

