My Vintage Sussex Trug

vintage sussex trug

I’ve been at it again, buying old bits and pieces, adding to my vintage gardening treasure trove. I bought this lovely old Sussex trug recently, using Christmas gift money given to me by my even lovelier Nan.

sussex trug

I’ve wanted an old Sussex trug, like, forever! I couldn’t think of anything better to spend the money on because every time I use it I will think of my beautiful Nan.

Thank you Nan and Julie at Ember Gate.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. And a beautiful trug it is too. I just love adding to my collection of vintage stuff. I really enjoy looking at them.

  2. Thank you Jo Ann, I love pulling all my tools out and admiring them. I can imagine cut flowers in my trug already. Roll on summer!

  3. It is lovely! I’m envious!

  4. Thanks Kate!

  5. A beautiful object. My Sussex Trug finally collapsed this winter after decades of hard work.

  6. Sorry to hear that, but I’m glad it gave you many years of service.

  7. I love these truggs too – even the word is soothing, and magical isn’t it? I saw a lot of these and other handwoven baskets at the VW campervan show at Malvern thislast summer. I would have bought loads but then I don’t even have a vegetable garden yet!

  8. Way better than the old builder’s bucket that I use! xx

  9. What great shots, and a beautiful sentiment. I am glad you invested your money in something that brings great memories – money not wasted at all! :)

  10. My Mum’s been using a Sussex Trug like that for years too. They’re surprisingly well-designed for the job they do, despite being unchanged for generations. There aren’t many things named after Sussex, but at least the Sussex trug is a very very good thing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,439 other followers

